User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: overclock

  1. #1

    Default overclock

    my e 7300 2.66 Ghz is almost outdated.dont have the budget for processor now,willing to overclock it for the time being.
    the same old q:how do i OC?how much OC is safe ?
    will i require a cooler?if i do,where should i get one?
    going to use nvidia gtx 560 ti.Hopefully will gather money for a decent Processor in 2 months.thank u...

  2. #2
    Member Raa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    170

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ash_buet View Post
    q:how do i OC?
    overclocking method depends on many factor like mobo, processor, cooler, etc. But the main procedure are same go into bios of ur mobo when booting to pc. Then find ocing menu in ur bios. This menu is normally titeled by "oc tweaker", performance tweaker or others. Then in that menu increase the fsb multiplyer by five each time and save the settings to boot in the windows. After that u can ran some stability test in windows to see how stable the settings is , like prime 95.Then repeat the process untile u get enough oc or get unstable. This is the most basic step. But u can try other advance step like uping core voltage but its not recomanded for new ocer.

    ---------- Post added at 08:17 ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by ash_buet View Post
    q:how do i OC?
    overclocking method depends on many factor like mobo, processor, cooler, etc. But the main procedure are same go into bios of ur mobo when booting to pc. Then find ocing menu in ur bios. This menu is normally titeled by "oc tweaker", performance tweaker or others. Then in that menu increase the fsb multiplyer by five each time and save the settings to boot in the windows. After that u can ran some stability test in windows to see how stable the settings is , like prime 95.Then repeat the process untile u get enough oc or get unstable. This is the most basic step. But u can try other advance step like uping core voltage but its not recomanded for new ocer.

    ---------- Post added at 08:22 ---------- Previous post was at 08:17 ----------

    u dont need after market cooler now, try pusing the cpu upto 80 C with the stock cooler. Then u can get a decent cooler if u need more juice out of ur cpu.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Raziel's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77 - V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @4.2GHz
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaw X 2X4GB @ 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • OCZ Vertex 4 128GB + Samsung 1TB + Toshiba 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5''
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7c
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K220
      • Mouse:
      • X7 XL-747
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F510
      • Power Supply:
      • TT Toughpower 750watt
      • USB Devices:
      • 2 GB + 8 GB
      • UPS:
      • Micro 1000v
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 , Windows Xp sp3 x86
      • ISP:
      • Link 3 1MB NDP
      • Download Speed:
      • 100/200
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1.2 Mbps
    Raziel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Dhanmondi, Dhaka
    Posts
    755

    Default Re: overclock

    i'll advice not to oc without decent cooler or thermal material. Cpu temp can be catastrophic for your processor and mobo.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default Re: overclock

    What is the best way to check the CPU temp? Is there any software? I think The bios based temp checking option is not good enough cause it does not show the temp at load.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Overlord's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H77MA-G43
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770 under CM Hyper 103
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB 7200 RPM Sata III
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 970 OC Gaming 4G
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H IPS 21.5 LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • MicroLab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • AutoKey Gaming
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech N-70FX
      • Controller:
      • USB Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22X DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Weli Power 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 3 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 3 Mbps
    Overlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,245

    Default Re: overclock

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark_wave View Post
    What is the best way to check the CPU temp? Is there any software? I think The bios based temp checking option is not good enough cause it does not show the temp at load.
    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

  6. #6
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default Re: overclock

    Thank you @ hrishat bro.


    My E4600 temp is 19-39c, mb temp 53-57 and 850-1100 rpm. My friend's E5400 temp is 35-39c, mb temp 38-39 and 2500-2700 rpm. Then why such difference is being observed between these RPMs?

    (N.B. temp and rpm were observed in bios.)

Similar Threads

  1. Overclock CPU??
    By superhuman in forum Hardware Modding
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: November 11th, 2011, 14:42
  2. How to overclock p4 2.26?
    By Dee in forum CPU
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 6th, 2010, 22:31
  3. How can i Overclock ma GPU?
    By Vиms Vm in forum GPU
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 29th, 2010, 23:40
  4. Do you guyz overclock?
    By showdown_king in forum GPU
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 17th, 2010, 22:49
  5. My first ever Overclock
    By ScS :: XTR in forum CPU
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 30th, 2009, 11:00

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19327 seconds with 14 queries.