User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

  1. #1
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя³¹'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23° 45' 10.07", +90° 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Talking Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    I've seen and heard many BGs buying TV cards, chinese speakers and looking for wireless expensive headphones dedicated for their PS3/Xbox 360s
    So, a little heads up on How to connect PS3/XBOX 360 to any LCD/LED Monitors (has to be HDCP Compliant)
    and How u can get audio from ur existing Headsets/Headphones or normal speakers and switch between them easily

    Prerequisites:
    1. HDCP compliant monitor
    2. RCA Adapter
    3. DVI-HDMI Converter or DVI-HDMI Cable

    For PS3:
    1. Connect DVI-HDMI Converter or DVI-HDMI Cable in their respective ends
    2. Connect PS3's TV/AV cable to PS3 and Red and White cables to the RCA Adapter
    3. Connect RCA Adapter's 3.5mm end to your sound card's Line-In (Blue in color with a Mic sign)
    4. Turn on PS3 and should say it detected HDMI and would the user like to output with it or not. Click Yes.
    5. Go to Sound settings of PS3 and it should have the output through HDMI. Change it to TV/AV and u should have sound through ur default playback device.
    6. Go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Sound > Recording Select Line-In followed by Properties and then Listen tab. Check 'Listen to Device' and Select 'Default Playback Device'.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	111.4 KB 
ID:	13238
    7. To switch between ur speakers and headphone(s), go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Sound.
    8. Right click on ur choice of device and click 'Set As Default Device'.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	64.7 KB 
ID:	13239

    Now, I can get sound from my Logitech G35 with surround sound enabled when I'm playing alone and switch to speakers when I've company.
    I didn't need to buy additional RCA Input-wala Chinese speakers also.
    Same process goes for Xbox 360 with a tweak in the Xbox TV/AV cable.
    Last edited by йЦммєя³¹; October 9th, 2011 at 20:29.
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

  2. #2

    Default Re: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    AFAIK xbox doesnt need HDCP compliant monitor...it can even show hd content over VGA...correct me he i an wrong

  3. #3
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя³¹'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23° 45' 10.07", +90° 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by offcutter View Post
    AFAIK xbox doesnt need HDCP compliant monitor...it can even show hd content over VGA...correct me he i an wrong
    with VGA cable u can get 1080i at max
    which is not Full HD (1080p)
    From Amazon:

    Product Features
    • 8 Foot long shielded cable
    • DV-155 Standard VGA connector
    • Video output settings of 480p, 720p, or 1080i
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound output
    Last edited by йЦммєя³¹; October 9th, 2011 at 22:34.
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by йЦммєя³¹ View Post
    with VGA cable u can get 1080i at maxwhich is not Full HD (1080p)From Amazonroduct Features
    • 8 Foot long shielded cable
    • DV-155 Standard VGA connector
    • Video output settings of 480p, 720p, or 1080i
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound output
    no games on 360,AFAIK,outputs true 1080p..it just renders the game in a lower res and then upscales the whole thing..so qualitywise,there wont b much of a difference even with 720p..

  5. #5
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя³¹'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23° 45' 10.07", +90° 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by offcutter View Post
    no games on 360,AFAIK,outputs true 1080p..it just renders the game in a lower res and then upscales the whole thing..so qualitywise,there wont b much of a difference even with 720p..
    yeah i guess u can cut out the HDCP compliant monitor part for Xbox 360s
    but there is still the part where u would want audio output from ur Hps or speakers
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    i was wondering if i could just use a tv card for my ps3...??

  7. #7
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя³¹'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23° 45' 10.07", +90° 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: Connecting console to Non-HDMI monitor with Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by Mahraf View Post
    i was wondering if i could just use a tv card for my ps3...??
    u could with the TV/AV cable
    but if u have a HDCP compliant monitor then why pass on HD ?
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

Similar Threads

  1. Realtek HD Audio 2.64 Audio Driver
    By Frank3nst3in in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 20th, 2011, 05:13
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 13th, 2010, 13:18
  3. Want to buy a monitor with HDMI
    By Banglavai in forum Help - General Shopping
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: December 12th, 2010, 14:25
  4. HDMI Vs HDMI (native)
    By zaman_177 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 1st, 2010, 19:00
  5. Sale (Used) Philips 21.5" lcd monitor with hdmi port
    By CHR.XR in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 30th, 2010, 00:16

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20795 seconds with 15 queries.