User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PSU only has single 4 pin CPU power connector.......

  1. #1
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default PSU only has single 4 pin CPU power connector.......

    I have to run an Asus Sabertooth Z77 + intel Core i5 2500K setup with my Thermaltake TR2-420 PSU, maybe for 2-3 months before I can get e new PSU for it. But the problem is, the motherboard's 12v CPU power connector is 8-pin, but the PSU only has one 4-pin 12v CPU power connector.

    Motherboard's manual has this picture at the CPU power connection section:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	386 
Size:	33.0 KB 
ID:	36751
    Will it be safe to use the middle option, connecting the 4pin connector on one side of the 8pin socket, for the i5 2500K running at stock speeds? Or would I need a converter like this?:

    Name:  XjN6E.jpg
Views: 422
Size:  21.5 KB
    Are these converters even available at BD? If yes where can I find them?

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    I think only 4-pin's enough. AFAIK the extra pins are for giving the extra oomph overclocking needs. But not highly suggested IMO.

  3. #3
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    I think only 4-pin's enough. AFAIK the extra pins are for giving the extra oomph overclocking needs. But not highly suggested IMO.
    there are some Badass mobos which won't even let you turn on the system if the 8pin EPS is not connected, i mean only ATX wont be enough for them.
    so nupe 4 pin is not enough.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    I think only 4-pin's enough. AFAIK the extra pins are for giving the extra oomph overclocking needs. But not highly suggested IMO.
    there are some Badass mobos which won't even let you turn on the system if the 8pin EPS is not connected, i mean only ATX wont be enough for them.
    so nupe 4 pin is not enough.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Ra's al Ghul's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte MA78LMT
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX4300
      • RAM:
      • 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Samsung + 500GB Toshiba
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 250
      • Display:
      • Samsung 920NW
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Audigy 4
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D 5.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech regular
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech
      • Controller:
      • DiLong Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 530W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 16X DVD Rom + Samsung DVD Burner
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 42-90
      • Upload Speed:
      • 24
      • Console:
      • 128
    Ra's al Ghul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Will run if you leave everything at factory settings.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Lol I had to plug 2x4-pins for an AMD FX processor on a 970 board
    Last edited by Trave160; July 25th, 2015 at 16:14.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    there are some Badass mobos which won't even let you turn on the system if the 8pin EPS is not connected, i mean only ATX wont be enough for them.
    so nupe 4 pin is not enough.
    Haven't got the motherboard yet, so can't test if it boots up. But in any case I guess getting a ATX to EPS converter/adapter would be my best bet until I change the PSU.

    Can anyone tell me if the adapter on the second pic is available anywhere?

  7. #7
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    240

    Default

    I used to come across this in places like tom's hardware, though that was a long time ago. From what I read intel mainboards ran just fine with 4-pin connectors.

Similar Threads

  1. Want to Buy 8 Pin PCI-e connector to 6+2 or 6 Pin PCI-e connector adapter
    By emroz_2272 in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 1st, 2015, 17:23
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 22nd, 2014, 20:33
  3. FIRE !!!! Molex power connector caught fire !!!
    By Rawkill in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: July 22nd, 2013, 23:11
  4. Single Rail Power Supply-- Why it is BETTER.....
    By VANGUARD in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: September 9th, 2012, 15:01
  5. Sale (Used) Tansnet Casing with 430watt Thermaltek Lite power Power Supply
    By Rorschach in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 4th, 2011, 04:21

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19018 seconds with 15 queries.