User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to create a PPPoe connection on windows 7

  1. #1
    Member
    • ELITEGUY's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Dell Inspiron 1440
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2.00 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 300 GB + 500 gb portable transcend hdd
      • Graphics Card:
      • built in
      • Display:
      • 19" HD LCD LG monitor & DELL Inspiron 16" laptop
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Cosonic
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech
      • Mouse:
      • Samsung
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360
      • USB Devices:
      • Webcam 5mp , A4 tech and few pen drives :/
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 32 bits
      • Comment:
      • I'm a console games, so the PC rig very rarely matters
      • ISP:
      • ZipBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 50
      • Upload Speed:
      • 35
      • Console:
      • 10
    ELITEGUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central Mid
    Posts
    896

    Question How to create a PPPoe connection on windows 7

    so here's the situation, i've been to google...(but it didn't help much}

    so, I have ZipBD internet connection and it requires PPPoe and, now I know how to create a PPPoe, but I also know PPPoe connection has something to do with MAC address. But i'm not too sure what to do with MAC address so now I wanna create a PPPoe connection on windows 7, any help would be appreciated..

    AFAIK, you have to take your original pc's mac address and edit the mac address of the pc in which your gonna use the internet.

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: How to create a PPPoe connection on windows 7

    the ISP, in your case ZIP should take your PC's MAC or they would assign a MAC from their servers & give it to you...if that's the case then go to:

    Control Panel>Network & Sharing>Change Adapter Settings(on the top-left)>Local Area Network(i.e your LAN adapter- in most cases it's a Realtek)- right click, go to properties & hit the Configure button! Once you get there, locate the Advanced tab- & look for the "Network Address" field. Select it & then type your MAC which ZIP has provided you, if they didnt, then no need to change anything!

    The letters/numbers should not have any space between them, but genrally when you see a MAC address it's written using hyphens!

    How to Create a PPPoE Connection?

    Control Panel>Network & Sharing>Under the Change your Network Settings Line- tap the "Set up a new network or connection" link, choose "Connect to the Network" If Windows detects a network automatically there will be two options:

    Browse the Internet now/Set up a new connection anyway- choose the latter, & select "Broadband PPPoE" & then enter your details: username/password- this is provided by ZIP & the name of your ISP in the ISP field, so that "ZIP" shows up in your taskbar(LAN icon)!

  3. #3
    Member
    • ELITEGUY's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Dell Inspiron 1440
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2.00 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 300 GB + 500 gb portable transcend hdd
      • Graphics Card:
      • built in
      • Display:
      • 19" HD LCD LG monitor & DELL Inspiron 16" laptop
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Cosonic
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech
      • Mouse:
      • Samsung
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360
      • USB Devices:
      • Webcam 5mp , A4 tech and few pen drives :/
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 32 bits
      • Comment:
      • I'm a console games, so the PC rig very rarely matters
      • ISP:
      • ZipBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 50
      • Upload Speed:
      • 35
      • Console:
      • 10
    ELITEGUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central Mid
    Posts
    896

    Default Re: How to create a PPPoe connection on windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    the ISP, in your case ZIP should take your PC's MAC or they would assign a MAC from their servers & give it to you...if that's the case then go to:

    Control Panel>Network & Sharing>Change Adapter Settings(on the top-left)>Local Area Network(i.e your LAN adapter- in most cases it's a Realtek)- right click, go to properties & hit the Configure button! Once you get there, locate the Advanced tab- & look for the "Network Address" field. Select it & then type your MAC which ZIP has provided you, if they didnt, then no need to change anything!

    The letters/numbers should not have any space between them, but genrally when you see a MAC address it's written using hyphens!

    How to Create a PPPoE Connection?

    Control Panel>Network & Sharing>Under the Change your Network Settings Line- tap the "Set up a new network or connection" link, choose "Connect to the Network" If Windows detects a network automatically there will be two options:

    Browse the Internet now/Set up a new connection anyway- choose the latter, & select "Broadband PPPoE" & then enter your details: username/password- this is provided by ZIP & the name of your ISP in the ISP field, so that "ZIP" shows up in your taskbar(LAN icon)!
    Thanks a zillion for such an informative post, really helpful and hey now i'm writing this comment from the other laptop, thanks to you man...

  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: How to create a PPPoe connection on windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by ELITEGUY View Post
    Thanks a zillion for such an informative post, really helpful and hey now i'm writing this comment from the other laptop, thanks to you man...
    Anytime!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: April 24th, 2012, 16:38
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: July 5th, 2010, 08:38
  3. Help on Redialing a PPPoe Connection Auto
    By ABDmaster in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 29th, 2010, 22:30
  4. CoD 5 how 2 create multiple profile?
    By pollob.codename13 in forum Call of Duty
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 30th, 2009, 16:48

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17245 seconds with 14 queries.