User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

  1. #1
    Member
    • Cracked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth 55i
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-760 (8M L3 Cache, 2.80 GHz) Cooled By Cooler Master Hyper 212+
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4GB [2x2GB] - Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB + HITACHI 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GeForce GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H LED HDMI
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA VT2020 10-Channel High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Rapoo 2100
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad F510
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 430W
      • Optical Drive:
      • USB DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V90 Classic
      • UPS:
      • Ideal
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Comment:
      • fair enough
      • ISP:
      • QUBEE
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBs
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18 KBs
    Cracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Uttara
    Posts
    154

    Question Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    why does my cpu always run at full speed even with 2%load.. it stays at 2.8ghz...if i change the power mode to balance thn it goes down clock and go up with load..bt if i use High performance it just stay at full speed(2.8) and with turbo boost on it stay always 3Ghz+ ...can anybody tell me whats the problm???

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Steelseries Siberia v2
      • Keyboard:
      • Steelseries 7G
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei, Xai, Kana v2
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • I love it <3
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    6,363

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    enable INTEL SpeedStep from the BIOS ?

  3. #3
    Member
    • Cracked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth 55i
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-760 (8M L3 Cache, 2.80 GHz) Cooled By Cooler Master Hyper 212+
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4GB [2x2GB] - Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB + HITACHI 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GeForce GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H LED HDMI
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA VT2020 10-Channel High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Rapoo 2100
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad F510
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 430W
      • Optical Drive:
      • USB DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V90 Classic
      • UPS:
      • Ideal
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Comment:
      • fair enough
      • ISP:
      • QUBEE
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBs
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18 KBs
    Cracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Uttara
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    enable INTEL SpeedStep from the BIOS ?
    i already enable Intel Speedstep bt still in high performance power mode it stay at full speed

  4. #4
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock B75 Pro3-M
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2500 3.30 Ghz cooled by Gigabyte G-Power Pro
      • RAM:
      • 4X2 GB DDR3 AData 1366 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi 500GB SATA2
      • Graphics Card:
      • Primary GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 Dual-X 3GB with Boost, Secondary: Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Suntech USB
      • Mouse:
      • Non Brand 3D Optical Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master Thunder 700W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • N/A
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3D Mark 11 Score: X1887
      • Comment:
      • I need zhe SSD!
      • ISP:
      • Robi
      • Download Speed:
      • 32kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 17kB/S
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,715

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Change the power settings from control panel to balanced and it's normal for a processor to downclock it's speed, it's normal, the high performance is a waste of electricity.
    Last edited by Fox Mulder; July 8th, 2011 at 18:20.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Cracked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth 55i
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-760 (8M L3 Cache, 2.80 GHz) Cooled By Cooler Master Hyper 212+
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4GB [2x2GB] - Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB + HITACHI 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GeForce GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H LED HDMI
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA VT2020 10-Channel High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Rapoo 2100
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad F510
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 430W
      • Optical Drive:
      • USB DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V90 Classic
      • UPS:
      • Ideal
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Comment:
      • fair enough
      • ISP:
      • QUBEE
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBs
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18 KBs
    Cracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Uttara
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by romulus_ut3 View Post
    Change the power settings from control panel to balanced
    i already told if i use balance power mode thn its ok there is no problm..the speed changes with processor load..bt in high performance power mode it stay at full speed..

  6. #6
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Steelseries Siberia v2
      • Keyboard:
      • Steelseries 7G
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei, Xai, Kana v2
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • I love it <3
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    6,363

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Cracked View Post
    i already enable Intel Speedstep bt still in high performance power mode it stay at full speed
    did you overclock your processor ? Now that I've switched to AMD, I forgot all those "BIOS specific names". There's another option for SpeedStep, check if you have that disabled!

    ---------- Post added at 17:24 ---------- Previous post was at 17:22 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Cracked View Post
    i already told if i use balance power mode thn its ok there is no problm..the speed changes with processor load..bt in high performance power mode it stay at full speed..
    are that is how the processor is designed :/ at load the CPU is bumped to the highest multi available & steps down when it's not required!
    & yes in high performance mode, the CPU will always run at full speed regardless of the load.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock B75 Pro3-M
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2500 3.30 Ghz cooled by Gigabyte G-Power Pro
      • RAM:
      • 4X2 GB DDR3 AData 1366 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi 500GB SATA2
      • Graphics Card:
      • Primary GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 Dual-X 3GB with Boost, Secondary: Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Suntech USB
      • Mouse:
      • Non Brand 3D Optical Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master Thunder 700W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • N/A
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3D Mark 11 Score: X1887
      • Comment:
      • I need zhe SSD!
      • ISP:
      • Robi
      • Download Speed:
      • 32kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 17kB/S
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,715

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Cracked View Post
    i already told if i use balance power mode thn its ok there is no problm..the speed changes with processor load..bt in high performance power mode it stay at full speed..
    The balanced settings doesn't hinder your performance, what it does is it lowers the processor clock when idle or not in intensive use, which reduces the power drawn by the processor, thus less heat is produced, whereas the high performance preset always keeps the processor at full throttle, draws more power, keep the settings to balanced for optimum power drainage/performance.
    Last edited by Fox Mulder; July 8th, 2011 at 18:27.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,828

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Cracked View Post
    i already told if i use balance power mode thn its ok there is no problm..the speed changes with processor load..bt in high performance power mode it stay at full speed..
    thats bcoz in high performace mode windows prevents ur cpu from downclocking

    to solve this go to power options>high performace>change plan settings>change advanced power settings>processor power management>minimum processor state>5%
    This makes will downclock ur cpu even at high perfomance mode....

    ---------- Post added at 17:32 ---------- Previous post was at 17:30 ----------

    P.S. = I know this trick bcoz i used to have the same prob & then i figured it all out.....

  9. #9
    Member
    • Cracked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth 55i
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-760 (8M L3 Cache, 2.80 GHz) Cooled By Cooler Master Hyper 212+
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4GB [2x2GB] - Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB + HITACHI 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GeForce GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H LED HDMI
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA VT2020 10-Channel High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Rapoo 2100
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad F510
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 430W
      • Optical Drive:
      • USB DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V90 Classic
      • UPS:
      • Ideal
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Comment:
      • fair enough
      • ISP:
      • QUBEE
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBs
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18 KBs
    Cracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Uttara
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    did you overclock your processor ? Now that I've switched to AMD, I forgot all those "BIOS specific names". There's another option for SpeedStep, check if you have that disabled!

    ---------- Post added at 17:24 ---------- Previous post was at 17:22 ----------



    are that is how the processor is designed :/ at load the CPU is bumped to the highest multi available & steps down when it's not required!
    & yes in high performance mode, the CPU will always run at full speed regardless of the load.
    no i don't overclock my cpu....well i was using high performance for last 1 month it never went to full speed always... it happaned 2 days ago..

  10. #10
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,828

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    @Cracked use the method above it will solve ur problem...

  11. #11
    Member
    • Cracked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth 55i
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-760 (8M L3 Cache, 2.80 GHz) Cooled By Cooler Master Hyper 212+
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4GB [2x2GB] - Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB + HITACHI 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GeForce GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H LED HDMI
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA VT2020 10-Channel High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Rapoo 2100
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad F510
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 430W
      • Optical Drive:
      • USB DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V90 Classic
      • UPS:
      • Ideal
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Comment:
      • fair enough
      • ISP:
      • QUBEE
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBs
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18 KBs
    Cracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Uttara
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: Why does my Core I5 760 always run at full speed??

    Quote Originally Posted by EyE SpeeD | DeViL View Post
    @Cracked use the method above it will solve ur problem...
    thnx..i figured it out too and it worked..bt the funny thing is before seeing this probm i never changed anything in advanced power management..i just used the default high performance setting and the cpu satyed down clock..weried

Similar Threads

  1. Need For Speed: The Run
    By SadIkMahdI in forum NFS - The Run
    Replies: 844
    Last Post: June 9th, 2013, 14:55
  2. Intel Core i5 750/760, where to buy?
    By Nahiyan in forum CPU
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 30th, 2012, 14:34
  3. Core i5 760 2.80 reached 3.32
    By Cracked in forum CPU
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 29th, 2011, 01:27
  4. Full Speed Internet Broadband Connection v2.3
    By Mr. Goodie2Shoes in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 26th, 2010, 23:07
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 21st, 2009, 03:37

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.37512 seconds with 14 queries.