User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Need suggestions for buying PSU

  1. #1

    Red face Need suggestions for buying PSU

    I will be buying a new pc after Eid.Here are the parts that I have chosen:

    Intel Pentium G3220
    Sapphire R7 250 1gb GDDR5
    4gb Ram
    500GB Toshiba 7200 RPM HDD
    Asrock H81M

    I will be mainly playing Dota 2 on this pc.Do I need a good branded psu or can I get away with a Chinease psu?If I have to get a branded PSU give me some suggestions on which one to buy.Give me any recommendations regarding the pc build too if needed.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    Corsair VS450 @ 3.5k is the swag nowadays

  3. #3
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Don't even dare look at a chinese PSU, bad idea. Get something for 300W like Tt Litepower, should be really cheap like 3k I guess

  4. #4
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    I second corsair vs450. Good PSU for the money.

  5. #5

    Default

    Will the Crosshair VS450 be able to run a r7 270x in the above stated build instead of an r7 250?? I thought that I would buy a 500 taka psu for the r7 250 because it isn't that power hungry and doesnt need any pci-e connectors.But if I get VS450,should I get a r7 260x?As far as I know r7 260x gives you double the fps the r7 250 can give??So should i get a better gpu(r7 260x) with the vs450 for more value out of the psu(assuming it can support the r7 260x)??

  6. #6
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,098

    Default

    I myself will vouch for VS450.

  7. #7

    Default

    Ok the VS450 it is.But I am thinking about swapping the r7 250 for a better gpu as I am getting a branded psu? :/ r7 250 vs r7 250x vs r7 260x vs any other option around that budget which will not be bottlenecked by the pentium g3220?

  8. #8
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    Ok the VS450 it is.But I am thinking about swapping the r7 250 for a better gpu as I am getting a branded psu? :/ r7 250 vs r7 250x vs r7 260x vs any other option around that budget which will not be bottlenecked by the pentium g3220?
    Running a 270X might be a bit risky but 260X is fine.

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks for the fast reply. Umm will the g3220 bottleneck the r7 260x? Trying to get the best value parts for the money because I am on a tight budget Would a better cpu be required for the r7 260x? Note that I am only getting the r7 260x to get more value out of the crosshair psu or else I would have just gone for the r7 250 or 250x because I would only be playing dota 2.

  10. #10
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    Thanks for the fast reply. Umm will the g3220 bottleneck the r7 260x? Trying to get the best value parts for the money because I am on a tight budget Would a better cpu be required for the r7 260x? Note that I am only getting the r7 260x to get more value out of the crosshair psu or else I would have just gone for the r7 250 or 250x because I would only be playing dota 2.
    G3220 is fine with 260X.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    G3220 is fine with 260X.
    You can get GIGABYTE R9 270 at only 14.9k now. VS450 will do just fine with it.

  11. #11

    Default

    Ok so I decided on this build:
    Intel Pentium G3220
    Sapphire R7 250x
    Asrock H81M
    Crosshair VS450 450W
    4gb RAM
    500GB TOSHIBA 7200 RPM
    Is this build fine?

    EDIT:

    Can I use my old mATX Deluxe casing for this build?It came with a Chinease Deluxe psu.Will the VS450 fit in such casings?

    Which ups should I buy for this build?

    Can I use my old pc's SATA II hdd(160gb)? I dont know if its working properly so I will take it to a computer shop.Few months ago a thunder probably fell on our electricity line(as the noise of the strike was massive and the whole sky lit up).I was ingame and my pc directly shut down although I had an ups.The ups went beeeeeep instead of beep beep.When the electricity came back I connected my pc directly to the power outlet instead of the ups(as it was broken).Then the pc wouldn't start.Only the dvd drive got power nothing else.The fans even stopped moving.So I thought its done for.Gladly the monitor wasn't effected(it was connected to the same ups).So would it be fine if I used that hdd from that broken pc(if it actually works that is).If I use that HDD then I can spend an extra 3.6k on the gpu and maybe get a r9 270 or replace the g3220 with an i3 4130.Sorry for long post :/
    Last edited by lolssss; July 16th, 2015 at 14:08.

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    Ok so I decided on this build:
    Intel Pentium G3220
    Sapphire R7 250x
    Asrock H81M
    Crosshair VS450 450W
    4gb RAM
    500GB TOSHIBA 7200 RPM
    Is this build fine?

    EDIT:

    Can I use my old mATX Deluxe casing for this build?It came with a Chinease Deluxe psu.Will the VS450 fit in such casings?

    Which ups should I buy for this build?

    Can I use my old pc's SATA II hdd(160gb)? I dont know if its working properly so I will take it to a computer shop.Few months ago a thunder probably fell on our electricity line(as the noise of the strike was massive and the whole sky lit up).I was ingame and my pc directly shut down although I had an ups.The ups went beeeeeep instead of beep beep.When the electricity came back I connected my pc directly to the power outlet instead of the ups(as it was broken).Then the pc wouldn't start.Only the dvd drive got power nothing else.The fans even stopped moving.So I thought its done for.Gladly the monitor wasn't effected(it was connected to the same ups).So would it be fine if I used that hdd from that broken pc(if it actually works that is).If I use that HDD then I can spend an extra 3.6k on the gpu and maybe get a r9 270 or replace the g3220 with an i3 4130.Sorry for long post :/

    the PSU should fit in the case. It fit in my age-old-I-dont-know-the-name-of case without a hassle. But a bottom mounted PSU case design is better for the overall airflow.

    as for the HDD, u can use it as long as it works. SATA is back compatible afaik.
    Last edited by MusharratC; July 17th, 2015 at 00:54.

  14. #14

    Default

    My casing is top mounting design :/ So should I use it or buy another one.I cant expend too much on the casing.Cant get the branded thermaltake ones And Which ups to buy? I just want to shut down my pc after load sheding.I dont need long backup periods.4-5 minutes is enough.

  15. #15

    Default

    ........................T_T

  16. #16
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    My casing is top mounting design :/ So should I use it or buy another one.I cant expend too much on the casing.Cant get the branded thermaltake ones And Which ups to buy? I just want to shut down my pc after load sheding.I dont need long backup periods.4-5 minutes is enough.
    no worries, u can use it. go for a 1000/1250va UPS.

  17. #17

    Default

    I am running a little low on budget.1000va ones are too expensive.Could i get away with a 650va one? This one?
    http://startechbd.com/ups/MacGreen-650VAUPS

    !!!! I need an urgent reply as am going to Elephant Road tomorrow !!!!!
    Last edited by lolssss; July 25th, 2015 at 21:12.

  18. #18
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    I am running a little low on budget.1000va ones are too expensive.Could i get away with a 650va one? This one?
    http://startechbd.com/ups/MacGreen-650VAUPS

    !!!! I need an urgent reply as am going to Elephant Road tomorrow !!!!!
    I don't think so. 650va is basically ~400w. So it will give u NO support in case of power failure.

  19. #19

    Default

    Okay then which is the cheapest option for me :/

  20. #20
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lolssss View Post
    Okay then which is the cheapest option for me :/
    don't know about 1000va ones but almost all 1250va ups costs around 5k.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need suggestions on buying an UPS
    By Fox Mulder in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: December 12th, 2014, 18:47
  2. Suggestions for buying a PC within 50k
    By Rubab in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: February 5th, 2014, 04:27
  3. Please help with PC buying suggestions
    By charpotro in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 17th, 2012, 09:41
  4. Need suggestions for buying a new PC
    By Rubab in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: March 16th, 2011, 16:48
  5. Need suggestions for buying a new PC
    By Rubab in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 183
    Last Post: December 13th, 2009, 19:58

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.61757 seconds with 14 queries.