User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Some issues and questions about 1200 VA powerpac

  1. #1
    Member
    • Ampere's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus B85M-G
      • CPU:
      • I5-4590
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 Bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2 x Western Digital Black 1 Terrabyte

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    51

    Default Some issues and questions about 1200 VA powerpac

    Recently I purchased a 1200VA Powerpac UPS and after charging it I set it up with my cpu and monitor. About 10-12 hours afterwords the wall socket my ups was connected to inexplicably stopped working. Right now I'm charging my UPS in another room, and am using a regular multiplug thats connected to a 2 pin socket that's a bit far away to power my cpu. Now my questiions..
    1. Did the UPS have anything to do with the wall power outlet thing failing or was it just a really bad coincidence?
    2. Is there any problem if instead of connecting my UPS directly to a socket, I connect it to the multiplug I'm using right now? (*It's a 2 pin socket too so not really possible to connect the ups, besides its kind of a hard reach)
    3, (Kinda unrelated but still would appreciate the help) In regular use do I turn off the UPS every time I'm not using my computer? Like keep it plugged in but turned off all the time (So the green light doest glow), or just keep it charging AND turned on 24/7?
    Really would appreciate some help, kinda confused as to wtf is going on. Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    kinda In a hurry so will try to get keep it short.

    1. yes/no/maybe. make sure that port has enough power to power that UPS and load.

    2. No, there is no problem however make sure the connection is properly done, loose connection might result in continuous sparking and will lead to heat related damages. Another thing make sure the multi plug can handle the power.

    3. if you don't use your computer its better to turn it off but i keep my pc and UPS too turned on for days or even weeks no problem what so ever, the thing about Lead acid battery is, don't let it fall below 15%, and charge it frequently, don't just leave a low charged battery for days, sulfonation will ¤¤¤¤ up the batteries.
    And one last thing if your UPS just have finished a backup session, as soon as electricity comes back don't just turn it on instantly, let it charge a little bit first although if you are in a hurry then yeah you have to turn it on but dont push it to provide another backup session.

    - - - Updated - - -

    pardon the extra get in the first line, can't ¤¤¤¤ing edit right now!

  3. #3
    Member
    • Ampere's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus B85M-G
      • CPU:
      • I5-4590
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 Bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2 x Western Digital Black 1 Terrabyte

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    kinda In a hurry so will try to get keep it short.

    1. make sure that port has enough power to power that UPS and load.

    2. Another thing make sure the multi plug can handle the power.
    Firstly thanks a ton that clears up a lot.
    Any way I would be able to check up those two things by myself or should I call an electrician?
    Also it's just a generic chineese multiplug, can those generally handle that output?

Similar Threads

  1. 1200 VA UPS Suggestion
    By Asif in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: October 15th, 2015, 14:04
  2. 1200 va ups...urgent!
    By iSzAlchemist in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 6th, 2013, 18:38
  3. Sale (Used) brand new 1200 Va UPS sale
    By djrock in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2013, 20:41
  4. Where to buy an APC Ups (1000-1200 VA) in Bangladesh ?
    By Rawkill in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 28th, 2012, 16:20
  5. Suggestion for a LCD between 9-1200=/
    By acE.Shanny in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 17th, 2010, 17:30

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17309 seconds with 14 queries.