User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Motherboard Problem

  1. #1

    Default Motherboard Problem

    I bought my new pc at september of 2010(a core i3 530 with gagabyte h55m s2 mobo).It gave no problem except last 1 week.4-5 days ago when I started my pc I saw black screen in monitor.After trying 2-3 times by restarting pc it was fixed.After this everyday this problem was happened.

    But 2 days ago there was no response in monitor(see black screen after starting pc).Then I went to glorious computers(from where I bought my pc) yesterday.After checking my pc they told some pin of the slot(where processor is placed in the mobo) is damaged.Those pins are not straight and they are curled phisically which means under physical damage I wont get warranty.!!!!!!!!!!

    I am not a hardware expert and not change pc components regularly.I don't even know how to open processor's fans(totally noob!!!!!!!!).So I have no idea how physical damage was happened. Besides from the talking of theirs I knew that they already saw same type of problem of their other customers 1-2 days before with same brand(gigabyte/smart).After telling there is no way a physical damage can happened they told me they will send it to their head office and will tell me today I will getting the warranty or not.

    I am totally astonished and confused.One of my friend told me those pins are so small that it cant be repaired.Is it true?If yes then if I wont get the warranty I have to buy a new mobo which is completely impossible for me right now.Any idea how those pins are damaged and what can I do now?

  2. #2
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    If you didn't touch it, said Physical damage most likely happened when they themselves jammed the processor in when you bought it. So, totally not your fault

  3. #3
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Did you check the bent pins yourself?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    After completing checking they showed me the mobo and I also noticed 3-4 pins are curled

  5. #5
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    You never opened it right? Maybe the problem was something else, and they accidentally ¤¤¤¤ed those pins up, and now they are blaming you.

  6. #6
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,980

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    AFAIK i3's dont have pins that go into the socket. so how can it be bent if someone didnt apply force in it? may be the seller is trying to fool you.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    i3 CPUs don't have pins, they have pads which touch the pins on the motherboard. So if you are sure that you never opened it, go to the shop again.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    After 1 month or more of waiting(it isn't simple,"please come again after 7 days/3 days",I had to listen it for at least 6 times) I got my new motherboard(actually they told it new).When I returned my pc I lost my PSU(Deluxe 450W) also.They said it is damaged and also showed it to me by testing it.Then I bought a ATX 500W and returned to home.

    The first problem I saw after returning my pc back is its responding time was to much
    increased.Previously,monitor was connected with cpu in 3 second after pressing power button.But now it needs at least 8 second to connect.I ignored it cause it's not a big problem.

    Then pc started to become more and more slow.Anti-virus(avast) found nothing.Before pc become a pentium-2 I reinstalled seven and problem is gone.But I feel it isn't permanent solution.

    Before passing 7 more days another problem is created.In the middle of playing starcraft 2,pc was hang.I ignored it.Then next morning,suddenly whole pc was hang when windows try to start.Seven setup was also hang after copying setup file.

    I took my pc to a servicing shop near my house and they repaired it.But when I asked what is the problem they couldn't answer properly.After returning pc to home I saw the OS is windows-7(starter).Then I realized what they did is just reconnecting all hardware and cleaning; and then setup OS.I also realized this solution isn't permanent.

    Next morning PC became slow again and I tried solve this problem differently.I removed external gpu (hd 5670) and set-up windows(this time 32 bit instead of 64) without it.I thought about running my pc without gpu for few days to see the problem is reappear.But after start fifa-11 for the 1st time , I found this new process isn't good.Fifa -11 was lagging in practice-mode!!!!Before buying hd 5670 I played fifa 11 smoothly even in high settings with the internal gpu of my core i3 and 2 gb ram.now with 4 gb why i can't even in low setting!!!! Playing starcraft-2 in medium settings will be a dream and my prediction became true.I started to loose my temper for the 1st time.

    I had to return gpu back and set-up windows (32 bit instead of 64).This process is stayed more days than my thought.It stays even now but it also have some problem(of course it's new type and not so serious).When I tried to open hd videos(720p/1024p) it starts to lagg.

    Sometimes cursor is changed permanently.Cursor has different shape in different case(like when you writing in notepad/office cursor is like capital I).But you wont except this in gaming starcraft-2 or in desktop.By restarting I can solve it.Sometime I saw(I forget what it is called) some parallel waves goes from down to up(it's common in TV when channel network isn't good).

    Sometimes I thought PSU(ATX 500W) is the main culprit and thinking about buying a thermaltake 4XXW PSU.But for thinking a scenareo that after buying the PSU problem isnt solved and I lost 3.5K for nothing I decieded not to.

    Any suggetion what I can do now?I also thoght about returning it to IDB,but my experience with the servicing shop prevent it.

  9. #9
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Which motherboard are you using now?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Probably H55M S2 F4

  11. #11
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Can you try installing a fresh OS? I mean, either download a fresh untouched version of Windows 7 or buy a DVD of SP1. And what's the brand of your PSU?

  12. #12
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    do what Dee suggested, but before that do a "memtest" if it finds errors, then your RAM's are faulty if not ? Then continue with the OS setup! Oh if you can, update the BIOS & clear the CMOS by removing the battery for 5mins & resetting the CMOS jumpers, check your motherboard's guide, should be listed on the layout!

  13. #13

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    @Dee
    kono brand ar na.market-a je non brand ATX PSU gula paowa jay.500-600 tk price.

    Maybe SP1 will be better than normal edition of windows.Currenly I cant download OS cause it's size.I will buy it.

    @dipanzan

    I dont know how to open hardware!!!!!!!!I cant do anything that will led to me for claiming warranty again.I still dont forget how much i had to suffer to get this one.
    Last edited by Perfect_Galaxy; July 9th, 2011 at 13:29.

  14. #14
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Perfect_Galaxy View Post
    @Dee
    kono brand ar na.market-a je non brand ATX PSU gula paowa jay.500-600 tk price.

    Maybe SP1 will be better than normal edition of windows.Currenly I cant download OS cause it's size.I will buy it.

    @dipanzan

    I dont know how to open hardware!!!!!!!!I cant do anything that will led to me for claiming warranty again.I still dont forget how much i had to suffer to get this one.
    that sucks, anyways try the memtest ? Oh & if you update the BIOS, usually Gigabyte has a native Windows software for updating the BIOS, if you do update the BIOS...the CMOS also gets clear in the process! Though some motherboards require that you manually reset the jumpers to "clear" & then to "default"

    Check their website, I'm sure you'll find something!

  15. #15
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Perfect_Galaxy View Post
    @Dee
    kono brand ar na.market-a je non brand ATX PSU gula paowa jay.500-600 tk price.

    Maybe SP1 will be better than normal edition of windows.Currenly I cant download OS cause it's size.I will buy it.

    @dipanzan

    I dont know how to open hardware!!!!!!!!I cant do anything that will led to me for claiming warranty again.I still dont forget how much i had to suffer to get this one.
    Download memtest and check if there are errors with the RAM, as dipanzan bro said. And if you are not experienced, I suggest you not to do anything with the hardware. And I have some SP1 disks, if you want, you can take one.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    How can I test my ram so I can know those are faulty or not?I cant do it externally.I have no friend by those i can replace my DDR3 ram and test it.I also cant use mines in theirs pc cause those are DDR2.Is their any way to test it internally?

  17. #17
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Use ---> memtest86

  18. #18

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    I used memtest86.But it didn't show any error in my ram.

  19. #19
    Member
    • rion_uttara's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI b75MA-p45
      • CPU:
      • intel i-3 2100 @3.1 ghz
      • RAM:
      • 6gb ddr-3
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500gb samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • intel HD graphics
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic 18.5inch led
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • altec lancing 2:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 750 watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • samsung dvdrw
      • Operating System:
      • win7 64-bit
      • Comment:
      • chole :P
      • ISP:
      • banglalion wimax
      • Download Speed:
      • 120-128kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32 kbps

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Perfect_Galaxy View Post
    I used memtest86.But it didn't show any error in my ram.
    vai amr mone hoy oi dokandarerai ulta-palta kisu korse

  20. #20
    Member
    • mmrozibul's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD5 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard
      • CPU:
      • Intel celeron 1.8 GHZ :) :)
      • RAM:
      • OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 / 1600 MHz /Gold Edition / Triple Channel Kits 12gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III and hitachi 2TB sataII
      • Graphics Card:
      • 2x ATI Radeon HD 5970 2GB DDR5
      • Display:
      • HYUNDAI 22" LED
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 7.1
      • Keyboard:
      • CORSAIR CH9000003UK Vengeance K90 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • RAZER Ouroboros Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse - Black
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower W0133RU 1200W ..
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS+SAMSUNG DVD Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • 32 gb transcend pendrive 19mb write and 35 mb read speed. Usb HDD 2TB Transcend USB3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and win xp service pack2 dual boot( for SL3 Hash calculation)
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • not scored
      • Comment:
      • Justify yourself
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion 2 MBPS
      • Download Speed:
      • 280 Kilobyte
      • Upload Speed:
      • 150 KB

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Khulna
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Motherboard Problem

    I think so, its the fault of shopkeeper, when he opened the processor then problem created.

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] Which Motherboard should I use ?
    By Gaara™ in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 28th, 2011, 02:09
  2. motherboard help
    By sakinsarwar in forum Motherboard
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2010, 23:04
  3. Want to Buy MotherBoard
    By abir in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 4th, 2010, 23:54
  4. Closed Motherboard
    By AmareX in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 16th, 2010, 02:39
  5. Which motherboard will be the best?????
    By Cracked in forum Motherboard
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 17th, 2010, 11:05

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.30869 seconds with 14 queries.