User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

  1. #1
    Member
    • adnan.alvee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE 78LMT-S2P
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Six Core (3.3 Ghz)
      • RAM:
      • Corsair (4 GBX2) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 560 1GB
      • Display:
      • HP 20" + Acer 19" (Dual Screen)
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • SHURE SRH 440
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech Illuminated Ultrathin Keyboard with Backlighting
      • Mouse:
      • Razer DeathAdder
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • 750 W
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG DVD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4GB + Transcend 8GB
      • UPS:
      • No Need
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Haven't tried yet!
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied!
      • ISP:
      • AT&T
      • Download Speed:
      • 600
      • Upload Speed:
      • 150
      • Console:
      • 16
    adnan.alvee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas,Texas
    Posts
    588

    Default Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    i've been using windows 7 since 1 & half years now & updating it regularly..bt for a few months um actually stuck at updating it to SP1 as the update says Sp1(44mb-500+mb).Is this update safe? i mean will my pirated copy of win 7 get caught or not?

  2. #2
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    I guess it is safe.

  3. #3
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    no problem with updating. If u use the Windows Loader hack, then its no problem. RemoveWAT has issues though.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Xem View Post
    i've been using windows 7 since 1 & half years now & updating it regularly..bt for a few months um actually stuck at updating it to SP1 as the update says Sp1(44mb-500+mb).Is this update safe? i mean will my pirated copy of win 7 get caught or not?
    I faced problem. I used HAL 7600 to solve that problem
    win loader did not work for me.

  5. #5
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    There was no issue here. I'm using Diaz's Windows Loader.

  6. #6
    Member
    • adnan.alvee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE 78LMT-S2P
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Six Core (3.3 Ghz)
      • RAM:
      • Corsair (4 GBX2) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 560 1GB
      • Display:
      • HP 20" + Acer 19" (Dual Screen)
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • SHURE SRH 440
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech Illuminated Ultrathin Keyboard with Backlighting
      • Mouse:
      • Razer DeathAdder
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • 750 W
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG DVD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4GB + Transcend 8GB
      • UPS:
      • No Need
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Haven't tried yet!
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied!
      • ISP:
      • AT&T
      • Download Speed:
      • 600
      • Upload Speed:
      • 150
      • Console:
      • 16
    adnan.alvee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas,Texas
    Posts
    588

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    ya i used the windows loader hack!

  7. #7
    Forum Staff
    • coldfire7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUSTeK P5QPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 @ 3200MHz~ w/ TR TRUE Black 120
      • RAM:
      • Transcend JetRAM (2x2GB) 4GB 800MHz DDR2 Kit @ 875MHz~
      • Hard Drive:
      • [P] Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB [S] 3x1TB, 1x2TB, 1x500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX960 AMP
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster S24A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Schiit Fulla 2
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Philips X2/27 + Shure SRH840
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BW Ultimate 2013 MX Blue w/ O-Ring mod
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX518 (6 years+ running ^^) w/ QcK Heavy
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W
      • UPS:
      • Apollo KS-1200F 2000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows NT 6.1
      • ISP:
      • Dual Homed Jinternets (http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6780327218.png)
      • Download Speed:
      • 10m+20m
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10m+20m
    coldfire7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    2,872

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?


  8. #8
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Actually for updating to SP1, it is better to use Windows Update. Dat one is around 100MB. Whereas full exe ta onekkkkk boro.

  9. #9
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    Actually for updating to SP1, it is better to use Windows Update. Dat one is around 100MB. Whereas full exe ta onekkkkk boro.
    No, it's dynamic and depends on what Updates you have installed. My download was 22 MB, since I already had most of the updates.

  10. #10
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wintereise View Post
    No, it's dynamic and depends on what Updates you have installed. My download was 22 MB, since I already had most of the updates.
    dynamic to botei. But not more than 100MB. I installed SP1 using Windows Update over a fresh copy of Windows 7 and it downloaded around 100MB. Whereas full exe to koek GB size.

  11. #11
    Member
    • @bhi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD10EZEX 1 TB + Seagate 120GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte HD7950 3GB WF3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" LED BX-2035
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SoundBlaster Z
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7C
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K-120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech mx518
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wireless controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X-650 km3 80+ Gold
      • UPS:
      • Luminous Solo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512kbps
      • Download Speed:
      • ~60
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~55
    @bhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    On My Chair
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    not koyek giga....32bit is 550mb and 64bit is 900mb...

  12. #12
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by abhi4168 View Post
    not koyek giga....32bit is 550mb and 64bit is 900mb...
    arrre bhai jai hok. Koi Less than 100MB and koi 550 and 900MB ..... aikhane abar onekei 64bit use kortese ........ my bottom line was use Windows Update to update to SP1. It will save u time. Dats all.
    Last edited by [email protected]; May 1st, 2011 at 14:10.

  13. #13
    Member
    • @bhi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD10EZEX 1 TB + Seagate 120GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte HD7950 3GB WF3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" LED BX-2035
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SoundBlaster Z
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7C
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K-120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech mx518
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wireless controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X-650 km3 80+ Gold
      • UPS:
      • Luminous Solo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512kbps
      • Download Speed:
      • ~60
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~55
    @bhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    On My Chair
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    arrre bhai jai hok. Koi Less than 100MB and koi 550 and 900MB ..... aikhane abar onekei 64bit use kortese ........ my bottom line was use Windows Update to update to SP1. It will save u time. Dats all.
    yeah that rite...but fresh copy te 100mb is really interesting...

  14. #14
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Is it safe to update Windows 7 to SP1 directly?

    Quote Originally Posted by abhi4168 View Post
    yeah that rite...but fresh copy te 100mb is really interesting...
    interesting na. Microsoft nijeo bole to use Windows update as it is smaller. Full .exe file gulai aro onekkkk patch thake jegula shobar dorkar nai and so dat network administers dont need net connection to update different individual workstations .....

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 25th, 2011, 21:24
  2. Windows 7 SP1 RC released
    By Rakin the Devil in forum Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2011, 22:18
  3. Windows Update
    By Diego Maradona in forum Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 10th, 2011, 21:25
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 26th, 2010, 14:13
  5. Windows 8 and Windows 7 SP1 Preparations--
    By Uchiha Obito in forum Tech News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 24th, 2009, 19:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26795 seconds with 14 queries.