User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: Is youtube really available in unlimited speed regardless of purchased bandwidth here in BD?

  1. #1
    Member
    • Billybuoy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS micro ATX H97M-E
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell Quad-Core 3.3GHz LGA 1150
      • RAM:
      • 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Primary: Crucial MX100 512GB SSD, Sec: Toshiba 2TB, Sec: HGST 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC Edition
      • Display:
      • Dell S2440L 24 inch LED backlit VA Panel
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio E10K USB DAC/AMP
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • SP: Logitech Z623 2.1, HP: Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro, Audio Technica M40x, Phillips SHP9500
      • Keyboard:
      • G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780R MX Cherry Brown (Red LED)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 650W Gold (Semi Moduler)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW/R
      • USB Devices:
      • ADATA UV128 16 GB
      • UPS:
      • Powervault 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64 bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Exp Index: 7.6, Glary Utilities: 16 Sec Boot Time
      • Comment:
      • Childhood desire for a Gaming Rig Finally came tru! All parts from earned money, still building
      • ISP:
      • Bracnet
      • Download Speed:
      • 2 MBPS
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 MBps
    Billybuoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    209

    Lightbulb Is youtube really available in unlimited speed regardless of purchased bandwidth here in BD?

    Dear All,

    I have heard that youtube is available in unlimited speed regardless of purchased bandwidth in BD? I mean if your bandwidth is 64KBPS you will be able to watch youtube videos at 1.5-2.0 MBPS speed due to a government protocol (especially initiated by Digital Leader Sajib Wajed Joy).

    Since I have been able to watch youtube videos (not download) with a much higher bandwidth than my broadband allows me to, so I want it to be clear once and for all.

    If it is then is it also true (I heard from a tech friend of mine) that steam downloads also fall under same protocol in BD and you have to enable it from the local ISP beforehand? (If it really is, I am thinking about staying in BD rather going abroad to 'study' lol!

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Yes, it is true, but I doubt government had anything to do with it. Google set up a cache server inside BD, and BDIX connected ISPs are giving direct local bandwidth to it. The only thing our digital government might have done is not ban/stop it from happening.

  3. #3

    Default

    Where do you live? Nowadays about every isp in dhaka city offers youtube bw, this is more like panivat in mp areas. If you really need to stay in bd for internet, i would suggest you to shift. (mirpur is a good area, you know

  4. #4
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    -_- Dhaka Fiber Net gives me 5 Mbps tops on Youtube (most ISPs do actually). At least I can watch 1080p60 videos sometimes flawlessly. But don't think the word about Steam is true -_-

  5. #5
    Member
    • NahyaN's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61M-S2V-B3/ Thermaltake Spacecraft VF-1 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 with Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • TeamElite 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB (Primary)/ WD Caviar Green 2 TB (Storage)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R9 380X Nitro
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19 Inch LED Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • AudioTechnica ATH-M40X
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • LiteOn DVD-RW 22X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 250GB Portable HDD
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Seren1ty gets the job done. Period.
      • ISP:
      • Earth Telecommunications
      • Download Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
    NahyaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    -_- Dhaka Fiber Net gives me 5 Mbps tops on Youtube (most ISPs do actually). At least I can watch 1080p60 videos sometimes flawlessly. But don't think the word about Steam is true -_-
    Even at the beginning of this year I could download stuff from steam at around 1.5MBps. But after March something happened and I was locked down to regular
    package speeds. I'm sure @Syeef bhai could say more about this.

  6. #6

    Default

    Attachment 36678

    According to this I get 7 MBPS on YouTube.

  7. #7
    Member
    • @bhi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD10EZEX 1 TB + Seagate 120GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte HD7950 3GB WF3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" LED BX-2035
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SoundBlaster Z
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7C
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K-120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech mx518
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wireless controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X-650 km3 80+ Gold
      • UPS:
      • Luminous Solo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512kbps
      • Download Speed:
      • ~60
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~55
    @bhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    On My Chair
    Posts
    2,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Billybuoy View Post
    Dear All,

    I have heard that youtube is available in unlimited speed regardless of purchased bandwidth in BD? I mean if your bandwidth is 64KBPS you will be able to watch youtube videos at 1.5-2.0 MBPS speed due to a government protocol (especially initiated by Digital Leader Sajib Wajed Joy).

    Since I have been able to watch youtube videos (not download) with a much higher bandwidth than my broadband allows me to, so I want it to be clear once and for all.

    If it is then is it also true (I heard from a tech friend of mine) that steam downloads also fall under same protocol in BD and you have to enable it from the local ISP beforehand? (If it really is, I am thinking about staying in BD rather going abroad to 'study' lol!

    Thanks in advance!
    nothing to do with "protocol" from government, its from google >https://peering.google.com/about/ggc.html

  8. #8
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    This YouTube cache only works with videos that are cached or already watched by someone. Try watching some not so popular YouTube videos like some non commercial videos uploaded by avg joe you will realize that BD broadband is still at its infancy.

    on top of that I believe Google automatically allocates higher BW/resources to those videos that has "commercial" value for eg, product reviews/ promotions etc

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    This YouTube cache only works with videos that are cached or already watched by someone. Try watching some not so popular YouTube videos like some non commercial videos uploaded by avg joe you will realize that BD broadband is still at its infancy.

    on top of that I believe Google automatically allocates higher BW/resources to those videos that has "commercial" value for eg, product reviews/ promotions etc
    you are right about the cache thing but nowadays isp's tend to peer themselves with google server to enjoy high speeds from all of their services instead of caching only youtube.

  10. #10
    Member
    • Billybuoy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS micro ATX H97M-E
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell Quad-Core 3.3GHz LGA 1150
      • RAM:
      • 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Primary: Crucial MX100 512GB SSD, Sec: Toshiba 2TB, Sec: HGST 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC Edition
      • Display:
      • Dell S2440L 24 inch LED backlit VA Panel
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio E10K USB DAC/AMP
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • SP: Logitech Z623 2.1, HP: Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro, Audio Technica M40x, Phillips SHP9500
      • Keyboard:
      • G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780R MX Cherry Brown (Red LED)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 650W Gold (Semi Moduler)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW/R
      • USB Devices:
      • ADATA UV128 16 GB
      • UPS:
      • Powervault 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64 bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Exp Index: 7.6, Glary Utilities: 16 Sec Boot Time
      • Comment:
      • Childhood desire for a Gaming Rig Finally came tru! All parts from earned money, still building
      • ISP:
      • Bracnet
      • Download Speed:
      • 2 MBPS
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 MBps
    Billybuoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Yes, it is true, but I doubt government had anything to do with it. Google set up a cache server inside BD, and BDIX connected ISPs are giving direct local bandwidth to it. The only thing our digital government might have done is not ban/stop it from happening.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    -_- Dhaka Fiber Net gives me 5 Mbps tops on Youtube (most ISPs do actually). At least I can watch 1080p60 videos sometimes flawlessly. But don't think the word about Steam is true -_-
    Quote Originally Posted by @bhi View Post
    nothing to do with "protocol" from government, its from google >https://peering.google.com/about/ggc.html
    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    This YouTube cache only works with videos that are cached or already watched by someone. Try watching some not so popular YouTube videos like some non commercial videos uploaded by avg joe you will realize that BD broadband is still at its infancy.

    on top of that I believe Google automatically allocates higher BW/resources to those videos that has "commercial" value for eg, product reviews/ promotions etc
    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    you are right about the cache thing but nowadays isp's tend to peer themselves with google server to enjoy high speeds from all of their services instead of caching only youtube.
    really appreciate for the response guys, i was brainwashed by some 'league er polapain' i guess to think that its a gift from 'Joy' bhai, only happens in BD...

  11. #11
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    I can stream 4k videos with my 3mbps internet :3

    EDIT: I don't have a 4k monitor :'(

  12. #12
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    I can stream 4k videos with my 3mbps internet :3

    EDIT: I don't have a 4k monitor :'(
    Try speed test with a non BDIX sever like Singapore Singtel . I doubt that u will get half of that advertised speed. U would be really lucky if u do.

  13. #13
    Member
    • Speed's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage IV extreme|Intel Mobile Mobo
      • CPU:
      • Inter Core i7 3970x | Intel Core 2 Duo T5850 2.16Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator Platinium 2x8GB 1600Mhz| 2GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 pro 128 GB| Intel 750 400GB| 2TB+3TB +4 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid | Intel GMA X3100
      • Display:
      • ASUS VG248QE 1080p LED 24" 144 Hz| ASUS Built In
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative ZxR| Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z5500 5.1 DTS,THX, Logitech G35 7.1 Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard | ASUS Default
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G400S| Logitech Notebook Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX 1200i 80+ platinium| None
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD +/-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Sony Micro Mach 32 GB USB 3.0 Imation 8GB|kingmax 4GB flash drive
      • UPS:
      • USPOWER 2000va Online UPS
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3D Mark 11 X 8151 |3D Mark Firestrike 7873,Cloud Gate 30749,Ice Storm 69745
      • Comment:
      • All credits goes to my father
      • ISP:
      • DHAKANET
      • Download Speed:
      • 750
      • Upload Speed:
      • 650
    Speed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    4,448

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    Try speed test with a non BDIX sever like Singapore Singtel . I doubt that u will get half of that advertised speed. U would be really lucky if u do.
    ur Singapore server is a piece of ¤¤¤¤.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Billybuoy View Post
    Dear All,

    I have heard that youtube is available in unlimited speed regardless of purchased bandwidth in BD? I mean if your bandwidth is 64KBPS you will be able to watch youtube videos at 1.5-2.0 MBPS speed due to a government protocol (especially initiated by Digital Leader Sajib Wajed Joy).

    Since I have been able to watch youtube videos (not download) with a much higher bandwidth than my broadband allows me to, so I want it to be clear once and for all.

    If it is then is it also true (I heard from a tech friend of mine) that steam downloads also fall under same protocol in BD and you have to enable it from the local ISP beforehand? (If it really is, I am thinking about staying in BD rather going abroad to 'study' lol!

    Thanks in advance!
    Lol...about ur intention of staying in bd only for youtube speed. I have been consuming bdcom for more than a year. I got 1.5 Mbps connection which let me stream youtube vidoes of 720p whether it is done by a single user, which meant you've to consume whole 1.5 bandwidth. But things doesn't play flawless, i often face buffering with streaming 720p while no other uses any single band on my network. Many other ISP's in dhanmondi provides around 10Mbps for youtube (which is allocated) with any line of 1.5-3 Mbps. Internet speed is still worst outside the territory of Dhaka. I don't know what is the function with BDIX or what it is actually, but all ISPs could make this possible to provide higher bandwidth. In comparison to other countries, we're precisely paying such a higher rate which might be compared with Singapore.

  15. #15
    Member
    • Syeef's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock Z77 Extreme6 | Corsair Carbide Air 540 Case
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 3770k 3.50GHz | Corsair H110 280mm Water Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 8GB (4x2) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB Blue Sata III
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX680 Twin Frozr III OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung 22-inch LED 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • N/A
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt eSports Theron Laser 5700 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310 Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CS750W Modular 80 Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD-RAM 24x Sata
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JF780 32GB USB 3.0
      • UPS:
      • 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • UTurn Broadband | Banglalion WiMAX
      • Download Speed:
      • ~15 Mbps | 128 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~5 Mbps | 32 KB/s

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    882

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NahyaN View Post
    Even at the beginning of this year I could download stuff from steam at around 1.5MBps. But after March something happened and I was locked down to regular
    package speeds. I'm sure @Syeef bhai could say more about this.
    I am still getting 1.5-2 MB/s speed on Steam... although my regular speed is now around ~15mbps anyway, back then my speed was around ~6mbps.
    Quran 6:159 - there is no sunni, shia under Islam.

    NOTE: I'm leaving this forum.. do not quote, tag, mention or PM me... you won't get a response.

  16. #16
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed View Post
    ur Singapore server is a piece of ¤¤¤¤.
    if u do the test with other non BDIX server ull get the same result.

  17. #17

    Default

    For international speed test use this- speedtest.sgix.sg (not more than twice a day)

  18. #18
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Ok how do people achieve speed like 2MB/s from Steam or Origin or other foreign sites from certain ISPs and whats the definition to call them? I mean how is this even possible?

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Ok how do people achieve speed like 2MB/s from Steam or Origin or other foreign sites from certain ISPs and whats the definition to call them? I mean how is this even possible?
    Akamai Web Caching.

  20. #20
    Member
    • @bhi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD10EZEX 1 TB + Seagate 120GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte HD7950 3GB WF3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" LED BX-2035
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SoundBlaster Z
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7C
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K-120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech mx518
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wireless controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X-650 km3 80+ Gold
      • UPS:
      • Luminous Solo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512kbps
      • Download Speed:
      • ~60
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~55
    @bhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    On My Chair
    Posts
    2,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Ok how do people achieve speed like 2MB/s from Steam or Origin or other foreign sites from certain ISPs and whats the definition to call them? I mean how is this even possible?
    Like Google Global Cache now there is Akamai CDN Cache.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Speed double & 1080p youtube
    By abed in forum Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 26th, 2014, 18:46
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 14th, 2012, 16:38
  3. Replies: 20
    Last Post: February 7th, 2012, 21:54
  4. NetWorx 5.1.9 Bandwidth usage and Speed Monitor
    By knroeoueqisk in forum Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 7th, 2011, 09:14
  5. GP's P2 provides unlimited bandwidth?
    By plasma_brain in forum ISP
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: March 5th, 2009, 05:06

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.30171 seconds with 14 queries.