User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Is Guild Wars 2 still worth buying?

  1. #1
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Question Is Guild Wars 2 still worth buying?

    The title says it all. I know there're tons of posts on the internet discussing the same thing but I'd like to consider it from a Bangladeshi gamer's perspective. Even if you don't own the game opinions are still welcomed.

    And I'm planning to buy it from bdbox, as I don't know any other that sales it.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    I got the deluxe edition for $15 from Pax sales. But for now dont spend $60 for early game items not worth it. Get the $40 one and from my perspective the game is great, has an awesome community probably better than WoW

  3. #3
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19"/Lenovo 15.6"
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    I got the deluxe edition for $15 from Pax sales. But for now dont spend $60 for early game items not worth it. Get the $40 one and from my perspective the game is great, has an awesome community probably better than WoW
    GW 2 is good.. But definitely not better than WoW... Atleast if you played WoW in retail... The issue with GW2 is lack of end game content... Even Diehard fan of the game have to admit it...


  4. #4
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    @Trave160 which server do you play on? And how's the ping?

    And if I buy it now, I should get the Heart of Thorns expansion pack for free, right?
    Last edited by _batman; June 24th, 2015 at 17:45.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rexron View Post
    @Trave160 which server do you play on? And how's the ping?

    And if I buy it now, I should get the Heart of Thorns expansion pack for free, right?
    Their servers are all interconnected, you mostly choose in-game worlds to play in. No I don't think HoT is gonna be for free

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by gogeta View Post
    GW 2 is good.. But definitely not better than WoW... Atleast if you played WoW in retail... The issue with GW2 is lack of end game content... Even Diehard fan of the game have to admit it...
    I meant about the community, GW2 came out 3 years ago and WoW has a longer road since 2004

  6. #6
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Their servers are all interconnected, you mostly choose in-game worlds to play in. No I don't think HoT is gonna be for free
    Checked the website, apparently they're giving out the core game for free to people who are pre-purchasing HoT, which in turn has been subject of much discussions

    Anyway, I primarily wanted to know how playable it is from Bangladesh. I use link3 without real ip. I played firefall without much problems but can get a real ip if necessary.
    Last edited by _batman; June 25th, 2015 at 15:57.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rexron View Post
    Checked the website, apparently they're giving out the core game for free to people who are pre-purchasing HoT, which in turn has been subject of much discussions

    Anyway, I primarily wanted to know how playable it is from Bangladesh. I use link3 without real ip. I played firefall without much problems but can get a real ip if necessary.
    me
    I get real IP from Dhakacom, but can't tell if it needed real IP. Since it doesn't use Steam or origins or third party game clients, yes probably will need real IP

  8. #8
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19"/Lenovo 15.6"
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    me
    I get real IP from Dhakacom, but can't tell if it needed real IP. Since it doesn't use Steam or origins or third party game clients, yes probably will need real IP
    No it doesnt require real IP. None of the MMO require real IP fyi.

    If you want to host a Private MMO server you will require it To connect a server you dont need real IP.


  9. #9
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gogeta View Post
    No it doesnt require real IP. None of the MMO require real IP fyi.

    If you want to host a Private MMO server you will require it To connect a server you dont need real IP.
    Yeah but what about stability?

  10. #10
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    So I launched the game and it's asking for initial home world selection. I've hold it off for now because while I'm not interested in WvW right now, I can't tell about the future. Any advice in this regard?

  11. #11
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rexron View Post
    So I launched the game and it's asking for initial home world selection. I've hold it off for now because while I'm not interested in WvW right now, I can't tell about the future. Any advice in this regard?
    Just enter, nice and easy. Thats it, any world you want. PvP comes later for the time being you just get to the basics

  12. #12
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19"/Lenovo 15.6"
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Yeah but what about stability?
    You wont see much difference... I hardly found any difference.. Or you can say I found none

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Yeah but what about stability?
    You wont see much difference... I hardly found any difference.. Or you can say I found none.. As long as your required ports are open....


Similar Threads

  1. Guild Wars 2-Torrent
    By gogeta in forum Online Multiplayer
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 29th, 2015, 22:53
  2. Guild Wars 2
    By shanan in forum General PC Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 24th, 2015, 18:55
  3. Guild Wars 2
    By CmE|bLaDe in forum Online Multiplayer
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: December 15th, 2013, 01:30
  4. guild wars 2 updated files
    By zahidislam in forum General PC Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 20th, 2013, 13:16
  5. Guild wars 2
    By arefinzz in forum Upcoming PC Titles
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: September 18th, 2012, 19:52

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.23561 seconds with 14 queries.