User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: L2 Vs L3 Cache

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kazipara
    Posts
    123

    Default L2 Vs L3 Cache

    Is L2 cache more important than L3?
    (L2 cache 512 KB and L3 cache 3MB) Vs (L2 Cache 4MB no L3 cache) then which will win?

  2. #2

    Default Re: L2 Vs L3 Cache

    The second one will win ofcourse! L3 is more precious than L2.
    Same goes for L2 vs. L1.

    EDIT: sorry, 1st one will be the winner.
    Hai re, eto boro typo kemne hoilo...
    & thanks mazhar vai for the explanation.
    Last edited by Leaving BG; January 18th, 2011 at 02:11.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS B250 Strix
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1700X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill 2x8GB DDR4 3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte 1070Ti
      • Display:
      • Dell U2711
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Essence STX II
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic Tesla T1
      • Keyboard:
      • G910
      • Mouse:
      • G502
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Home
      • ISP:
      • Aamra
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,909

    Default Re: L2 Vs L3 Cache

    Quote Originally Posted by zaman_177 View Post
    Is L2 cache more important than L3?
    (L2 cache 512 KB and L3 cache 3MB) Vs (L2 Cache 4MB no L3 cache) then which will win?
    It depends on many other factors as to which one is more important, even in your case. The architecture of the CPU, the L3 cache bandwidth, nature, size, latency and the ratio of cores its shared with along with many other factors matter. Dont put too much importance on L2 cache size for Intel processors after Core i series. L2 is fixed at 256kb, small, fast and is exclusive to the cores. The L3 varies among processors and is shared between the cores. Hence when choosing the processor, a higher L3 cache is preferred but of course, there are other factors involved.

    Rion, an L3 cache is not more precious than L2, and L2 is certainly not more precious than L1! But since those (L1 and L2) are usually fixed nowadays, we choose between a higher, lower or no L3 (Athlon X3/X4)

    Of course, with processors which have no L3, the L2 is variable. Its rarely the case that both L2 and L3 vary among different models.

  4. #4

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 4th, 2009, 21:41
  2. Is Cache Server On.... again ?
    By Diego Maradona in forum Internet
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: April 20th, 2009, 16:36
  3. FSB, clockspeed or cache???
    By saadbillah in forum CPU
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: September 20th, 2008, 09:18

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.16059 seconds with 14 queries.