User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

  1. #1
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Source: http://www.techpowerup.com/137140/AM...6970.html?cp=1

    Looks like Santa brought an extra present for us hardware enthusiasts this year. Thanks to a less secure locking method AMD's new Radeon HD 6950 can be unlocked to a full blown HD 6970 with a few mouse clicks.

    As detailed in our article, you can safely perform the flashing process from within Windows. In case something goes wrong it is easier than ever to recover the card thanks to AMD's new Dual-BIOS feature.

    We tested the unlock on three HD 6950 cards: one AMD engineering sample, one HIS media sample and one ASUS retail card. All of them unlocked perfectly and run at HD 6970 speeds now. More success reports are compiled into a table at the end of the modding article.
    Awsome!

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud that has given us the word God

  2. #2
    Member
    • avas911's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-EG41MF-US2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E6500 2.9 GHz 2MB L2 1066MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB 800 MHz Apecer at 5-5-5-15
      • Hard Drive:
      • OCZ Vertex 3 120GB Sata III & Samsung 103SJ 1 TB F3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI RADEON HD6850 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Philips 107S7 17" at [email protected]
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In Realtek ALC883
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A200 / Cosonic Generic / Logitech Ultimate Ears 200vi/SoundMAGIC E10M IEM
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7 XL-747H 3600 DPI
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta GPS-500AB A 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 16x IDE DVD R
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 500 8GB & Corsair Survivor USB 3.0 16GB & Samsung Class 10 16GB mSDHC
      • UPS:
      • Rahimafrooz 600VA Premium
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate 64Bit
      • Comment:
      • Slow in gaming
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512
      • Download Speed:
      • 70
      • Upload Speed:
      • 70
    avas911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    4,251

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    ore josssss to...

    Nvidia baash er rajotte chole jasse...
    Once more into the fray
    Into the last good fight Ill ever know

    Live and die on this day
    Live and Die on this day

  3. #3
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Great!

  4. #4
    Member
    • W1C|<3D's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG41RQ
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo
      • RAM:
      • 3GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte 9500 1 GB[factory overclocked]
      • Display:
      • HP 1859m
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH GK-85
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX 518
      • Power Supply:
      • 500 watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS Sata DVD RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Se7en Ultimate X64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • RAM 5.5,HDD 5.8,Processor 6.4,Gaming Graphics 6.2
      • Comment:
      • Meh....
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 64+
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30+
    W1C|<3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Narnia :O
    Posts
    4,895

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Whoa!
    No 7. No discussion, sharing or referencing game hacks.
    BG Rule Book

  5. #5
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Intentional move. Why do you think there are 2 BIOS'es in the card and a switch on the card itself to change to recovery BIOS in the event of BIOS failure?

    Voltmodded, overclocked and flashed 6950's are going to be one hell of a deal for $300.

  6. #6
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    True it was intentional, Similar to unlocking Cores in AMD CPUs.

    I hope intel, Nvidia follows this And keep options similar to this for enthusiasts like us. ^^

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud that has given us the word God

  7. #7
    Banned
    • Rakin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 920 Cooled by TT Frio (dual fan)
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB + Silicon Power 2GB DDR3 1333Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB Hitachi @ 7200 RPM 32MB Buffer
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX AMD Radeon 5850 Black Edition
      • Display:
      • ASUS MS228H 21.5 Full HD 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • 10-channel (7.1) Dolby Home Theater Audio subsystem using the Realtek ALC892 audio codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire M4500 4:1 , A4 Tech Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech KBS - 8
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech 2X office 7K
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller for Windows
      • Power Supply:
      • ASUS 650 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 24X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StoreJet 320 GB , Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 1000/1000
      • Comment:
      • The Killer Machine
      • ISP:
      • Qubee WiMAX @ 256 kbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 32 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 7-8 KBps
      • Console:
      • 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    586

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    gr8......now i need a 6950.......ny1 kno wat prize will it be wen it hit bd?

  8. #8
    Member
    • Mohiuddin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth X58
      • CPU:
      • Xeon X5650
      • RAM:
      • 8gb gskill ripjaw
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital 1TB blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX670 4GB
      • Display:
      • now with TV
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech
      • Controller:
      • Nai
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte 1200w OdinPro
      • Optical Drive:
      • Generic
      • UPS:
      • Apatoto nai
      • Operating System:
      • win 7
      • ISP:
      • Netvision
      • Download Speed:
      • Janina, 3Mbps may be
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload...

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Uttara,dhaka
    Posts
    4,165

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Quote Originally Posted by Rakin View Post
    gr8......now i need a 6950.......ny1 kno wat prize will it be wen it hit bd?
    hahhahhah!bd te ashte ashte 6950 product puradome suru hoe jabe...samples for benchsites and first fewly sold 6950s r with 6970 shaderunits.when 69xx is getting into mass production and vendors custom desinged 6950gfx cards r going to come out, then this bios flashing will not work.coz, they will not have any extra unlockable simds....ar bd te kokhon 69xx ashbe?
    i think, amd knew this hacking will happen,so they did that dual bios feature for less experienced users.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Quote Originally Posted by Mohiuddin View Post
    samples for benchsites and first fewly sold 6950s r with 6970 shaderunits.when 69xx is getting into mass production and vendors custom desinged 6950gfx cards r going to come out, then this bios flashing will not work.coz, they will not have any extra unlockable simds....ar bd te kokhon 69xx ashbe?
    i think, amd knew this hacking will happen,so they did that dual bios feature for less experienced users.
    As long as you can find reference 6950's, it should work (not in all cases though, but you can revert back anyway)

    However, unless AMD laser cuts the SIMD's themselves, there should always be a way to flash them to a 6970, though admittedly it will be harder if the PCB etc are changed. I fondly remember Radeon 9500 pro > 9700 pro. Almost all of them worked, until ATI decided to do something

  10. #10
    Member
    • avas911's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-EG41MF-US2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E6500 2.9 GHz 2MB L2 1066MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB 800 MHz Apecer at 5-5-5-15
      • Hard Drive:
      • OCZ Vertex 3 120GB Sata III &amp; Samsung 103SJ 1 TB F3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI RADEON HD6850 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Philips 107S7 17&quot; at [email protected]
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In Realtek ALC883
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A200 / Cosonic Generic / Logitech Ultimate Ears 200vi/SoundMAGIC E10M IEM
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7 XL-747H 3600 DPI
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta GPS-500AB A 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 16x IDE DVD R
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 500 8GB &amp; Corsair Survivor USB 3.0 16GB &amp; Samsung Class 10 16GB mSDHC
      • UPS:
      • Rahimafrooz 600VA Premium
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate 64Bit
      • Comment:
      • Slow in gaming
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512
      • Download Speed:
      • 70
      • Upload Speed:
      • 70
    avas911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    4,251

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    all reference cards should work....there will be cards with seriously damaged SMDs...which will not work...the bigger problem will be non reference cards with insufficient cooling/power circuitry......which will not be able to run as 5970 at full load...
    Once more into the fray
    Into the last good fight Ill ever know

    Live and die on this day
    Live and Die on this day

  11. #11
    Member
    • Ratul107's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • gigabyte h61M s2p
      • CPU:
      • core i5 2400 3.1 ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2x2gb ddr3 1333mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB + 1TB ext
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280X
      • Display:
      • samsung SA300 20&quot; 1600X900
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Keyboard:
      • generic
      • Mouse:
      • generic
      • Controller:
      • generic
      • Power Supply:
      • thermaltake smart power 550w
      • UPS:
      • 1000va
      • Operating System:
      • win 7 64 bit ultimate edition
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cpu 7.4 gpu 7.8 ram 7.6 hdd 5.9
      • Comment:
      • it's a mixed bag ... but gaming performance is satisfactory
      • ISP:
      • smilebd
      • Download Speed:
      • ~240kB/s
    Ratul107's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    1,423

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    I hope amd doesnt fix dis by d time it comes to bd.

  12. #12
    Member
    • Mohiuddin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth X58
      • CPU:
      • Xeon X5650
      • RAM:
      • 8gb gskill ripjaw
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital 1TB blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX670 4GB
      • Display:
      • now with TV
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech
      • Controller:
      • Nai
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte 1200w OdinPro
      • Optical Drive:
      • Generic
      • UPS:
      • Apatoto nai
      • Operating System:
      • win 7
      • ISP:
      • Netvision
      • Download Speed:
      • Janina, 3Mbps may be
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload...

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Uttara,dhaka
    Posts
    4,165

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    As long as you can find reference 6950's, it should work (not in all cases though, but you can revert back anyway)

    However, unless AMD laser cuts the SIMD's themselves, there should always be a way to flash them to a 6970, though admittedly it will be harder if the PCB etc are changed. I fondly remember Radeon 9500 pro > 9700 pro. Almost all of them worked, until ATI decided to do something
    amar mone hoina bd te amra ei software-level-locked 6950 pabo...er onek agei amd oi extra simd omit kore dibe , na hoi sillicon-blocked koredibe.i think they r not fool enough to let their 6970 die... I guess they will do it within month (but not hope)..their this amazing offer will only serve their very first portion of customars.

  13. #13
    Member
    • showdown_king's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • XFX XG31i
      • CPU:
      • INTEL DUAL CORE E5200 3.08GHZ.(324.6X9.5)- FSB-1300Mhz
      • RAM:
      • APACER DDR2 2 GB @ 974 MHZ(6-6-6-18)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG HD322HJ 320GB 7200 RPM + 60 GB IDE
      • Graphics Card:
      • Onboard
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER B2230 21.5&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CREATIVE 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH MULTIMEDIA
      • Mouse:
      • HP
      • Controller:
      • DILONG DUAL SHOCK
      • Power Supply:
      • FORTREX 600W
      • USB Devices:
      • 2 GB PEN+ 56K MODEM
      • UPS:
      • APOLLO 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WIN 7 ULTIMATE 32 BIT MANUALLY MODIFIED FOR GAMING
      • Comment:
      • Serves my purpose
      • ISP:
      • BTCL
      • Download Speed:
      • 128kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 128kbps
    showdown_king's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    TOLARBAG,MIRPUR1
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    Quote Originally Posted by Mohiuddin View Post
    amar mone hoina bd te amra ei software-level-locked 6950 pabo...er onek agei amd oi extra simd omit kore dibe , na hoi sillicon-blocked koredibe.i think they r not fool enough to let their 6970 die... I guess they will do it within month (but not hope)..their this amazing offer will only serve their very first portion of customars.
    obosshoi ora fool na......ora age thekei janto je people ei jinish try korbe...............tarpor o tara laser cut kore nai............in fact tara extra r akta bios dise if anything goes wrong

  14. #14
    Member
    • Mohiuddin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth X58
      • CPU:
      • Xeon X5650
      • RAM:
      • 8gb gskill ripjaw
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital 1TB blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX670 4GB
      • Display:
      • now with TV
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech
      • Controller:
      • Nai
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte 1200w OdinPro
      • Optical Drive:
      • Generic
      • UPS:
      • Apatoto nai
      • Operating System:
      • win 7
      • ISP:
      • Netvision
      • Download Speed:
      • Janina, 3Mbps may be
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload...

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Uttara,dhaka
    Posts
    4,165

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

    AMD Revising Radeon HD 6900 Series PCB

    jader 6950 kenar plan ase, taratariiii kine felo....

    AMD is planning a revised Radeon HD 6900 series reference-design PCB. It is reported that the delays which short-supply of TI-made driver-MOSFETs caused have been tided over with, giving AMD the opportunity to redesign the PCB to make use of the more cost-effective yet high-performance VRM circuitry. AMD is reported to have used expensive Volterra-made digital PWM chippery in a last-ditch effort to release the Radeon HD 6900 series in time for the X'mas shopping season, after TI-made VRM components couldn't make it to foundry-partners in time (which caused the launch delay in November, 2010). The redesigned PCB with its new TI-made driver-MOSFETs (DrMOS) could also present an opportunity for AMD to patch the Radeon HD 6950, making stream processor unlocking using BIOS flash impossible, notes the source. This development surfaced after water-cooling major Swiftech announced that it delayed the launch of its Radeon HD 6900 series full-coverage water block because AMD is revising its PCB design.

    ------------------------------------
    SOURCE:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/137448/AM...eries-PCB.html

Similar Threads

  1. AMD Radeon HD 5870 X2 Pictured
    By shaikh_imtiaj in forum GPU
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: October 28th, 2012, 07:22
  2. AMD Radeon 6900 series
    By Arif69 in forum GPU
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: December 28th, 2010, 12:09
  3. AMD Radeon HD 6870 benchmarks ?
    By SHTN in forum GPU
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: September 1st, 2010, 20:37
  4. [H] AMD Radeon HD 4770
    By CvP in forum Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 30th, 2009, 01:20
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 15th, 2008, 13:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26479 seconds with 14 queries.