User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to LAN???

  1. #1
    Member
    • MWApocalypse's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Apacer 3 GB (2 GB+ 1 GB @800 BUS)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD4850 512 MB Standard
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" widescreen LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 400W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 24X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit edition Build 7600
      • Comment:
      • I fell in love with it...
      • ISP:
      • Deltasoft
      • Download Speed:
      • 20-35 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 35
    MWApocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Shewraphara, Dhaka
    Posts
    72

    Default How to LAN???

    Scenario

    There is:

    1) 1 Desktop PC running Windows 7;
    2) 4 laptops which are also running Windows 7 ;
    3) 5 friends who met after a long tym...and now wants to have a helluva time playing games with each other.

    Problem

    1) None of them has any idea how to create a lan to play games like Rise of Nations, Starcraft II, CSS, NFS, FIFA etc.
    2) What is required?..a hub. some wires or something else...all they r certain of is they r gonna have plenty of food
    3) How do they set them up and play like there is no tomorrow?
    4) What needs to be done -
    - do they need any software, if they do whats the name and how do they use it or change the settings?
    - do they need to change any settings in Windows 7 during the process..if they do what are those?
    - The hardware they r gonna use...what is this actually and how do they set this up corresponding to the changes in the software or Windows settings done previously?
    - Do they need to buy it?...if they do which brand should they prefer?
    - how many wires do they need?...do they need any specific type of wires or just some simple networking wires?

    Solution

    They want it from you guys...please they need it...and thats why the first thing they did was turn to this website...because this website has never let them down...give links, tutorials, videos anything...just make sure that they fulfill the scenario and the problems mentioned above...



    P.S. Problem 2, 3 & 4 are almost similar..I just wrote them separately to make it as clear as possible. And I was also not sure whether or not this was the right section to post this thread, so I apologize upfront if i posted it in a wrong section.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Arif69's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61 S2P B3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3 2100
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500 GB | Hitachi 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Radeon HD 5770 1 GB DDR5
      • Display:
      • Dell E1910H 18.5 Wide Lcd
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA HD Audio Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 4400 | Logitech S-150 | Sony MDR-ZX100
      • Keyboard:
      • Lexma LK7550P Slim
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech B100
      • Controller:
      • Generic Usb Joystick
      • Power Supply:
      • ITS 500 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224BB 24X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetflash350 16 GB
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit | Ubuntu
      • ISP:
      • KS

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5,572

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    You will need a 5 port hub (a decent 5 port hub will cost around 500 tk) & 5 wires to connect each of the wires with each pc's lan card.After putting the wires on each pc lan card you will just have to wait to show on each pc that "there is limited connectivity".Then it's all done .Anyone host a game & others just join to play that game.Have fun .

    In these process I have created lan party many times in my home. By following these process you can also play multiplayer games in between different OSs like between Xp & 7.
    Last edited by Arif69; December 7th, 2010 at 11:23.

  3. #3
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    or u can buy a wifi adapter for ur desktop. Create an adhoc wifi hotspot wid it and all laptops will find the wlan network.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    • abir's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G41M-ES2L | Intel 965 HP
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 2.7GHz 800MSB| Intel T5670 Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz 800MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • (2+2) 4GB DDR II (800MHz) | 1GB RAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320 GB SATA Samsung | 160GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon 4770 512MB | Intel GMA X3100
      • Display:
      • DELL Inspiron 18.5" LCD |14.1" TFT LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Builtin Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Slimstar 355 Gaming Keyboard | A4Tech Anti RSI (USB PS2)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech 7K Office (USB)| HP
      • Power Supply:
      • Deluxe DLP 388A 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 16X DVD Drive & Liteon DVDW| Asus DVD RAMRW LightScribe
      • USB Devices:
      • 4GB Apacer Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • OVO 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 | Windows XP SP2 & Ubuntu 9.04
      • ISP:
      • Smile Internet (Bronze)
    abir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Azimpur
    Posts
    7,913

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    u wrote a lot, but didn't clear the main thing
    LAN will be done in the same room or virtual lan among them over net?
    I guess all pc+laptop will be at the same room.

    get a switch (tplink or other brand). its better than hub. [only haba virus use it ]
    get cat6 cable to connect the pc/lt with the switch. (cable length= distance u want from switch to pc that depends on u)
    now connect all of them to the switch with the cable.

    as all are running in windows 7, u wont have to anything else. simply go to multiplayer lan from ur game modes.

    u can set the ip manually also if u like. set the ip of all the pc/lt to 192.168.1.1-5 subnetmask:255.255.255.0

    thats it

    "Game after game after game, I realized what is most important of my life - FOOTBALL.."
    I bleed red, Man Utd 4ever..
    ---------------------
    অনেক দূরের একলা পথে, ক্লান্ত আমি ফিরি তোমার কাছে, মুখোশ খুলে বসে রই জানলার ধারে..

  5. #5
    Member
    • Arman.Zmn's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Alienware M17xR3
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz
      • RAM:
      • 16gb(4+4+4+4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 840 EVO 240GB + Samsung 1 TB + Samsung 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • AMD Radeon HD 6970M (Dell)
      • Display:
      • Samsung P2350 23'' full HD 1920x1080 + Laptop 17.3" LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • onboard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Klipsch Audio
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Corsair M90 Gaming Mouse
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • 3x1TB Transcend StoreJet
      • UPS:
      • APC Smart UPS 1500VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 x64
      • Comment:
      • i'm lovin it
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 3 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1.5 Mbps

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    522

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    all this procedures are same, but the cost. if you r in budget go with Arif69's way,
    but if you want better performance and budget isn't any problem go with
    abir's way, but at least use cat5 cable... higher would be better...
    <a href=http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4825569231 target=_blank rel=nofollow><img src=http://www.speedtest.net/result/4825569231.png border=0 alt= /></a>

  6. #6
    Member
    • [email protected]'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z97x-UD3H-BK
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690k OC to 4.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G Skill 16 GB DDR3 2200MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 2 TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Geforce 970 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus 21.5 inch IPS monitor
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Audioengine A2 plus Dayton 8 inch subwoofer
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500s
      • Controller:
      • Original Microsoft Xbox One wired controller
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 750W 80 plus Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Tom@L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    my one doesnt need cable mess and performance is same. Plus internet can b shared easily too

    ---------- Post added at 18:48 ---------- Previous post was at 18:43 ----------

    wifi adapter costs 1500 to 2000.

  7. #7
    Member
    • MWApocalypse's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Apacer 3 GB (2 GB+ 1 GB @800 BUS)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD4850 512 MB Standard
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20&quot; widescreen LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 400W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 24X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit edition Build 7600
      • Comment:
      • I fell in love with it...
      • ISP:
      • Deltasoft
      • Download Speed:
      • 20-35 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 35
    MWApocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Shewraphara, Dhaka
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: How to LAN???

    thanx a lot guys that really helped...

Similar Threads

  1. Lan Change
    By Max Pain-Pritom in forum Goal of The Month
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 23:33
  2. Lan <smile>?
    By abir in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: October 13th, 2008, 22:45
  3. Lan
    By mr_08 in forum Older NFS Games
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 21st, 2008, 20:27
  4. GP-KB in Lan 4d CUP?
    By Ic3_STrik3R in forum Top FIFA Players
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 24th, 2008, 22:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.18915 seconds with 14 queries.