User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help with router

  1. #1

    Default Help with router

    I think my netgear router's ethernet port is fried after todays lighting storm. I forgot to switch off the router during storm. Now the internet port is not working. The lan ports are ok I think. So is there any way to repair the router?

    secondary which ups has RJ45 port for surge protection? I need one.

  2. #2

    Default

    which is the model?

  3. #3
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,097

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyder711 View Post
    secondary which ups has RJ45 port for surge protection? I need one.
    Only on some online UPS.

  4. #4

    Default

    https://www.techshopbd.com/
    ekhan theke rj45 port kinte parben, kine local electrical shop e niye sodler korai dekhte paren, jodi sudhu port noshto hoye thake tobe thik hoye jabe, kintu controller o noshto hoye thakle thik hobe na.

  5. #5
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    https://www.techshopbd.com/
    ekhan theke rj45 port kinte parben, kine local electrical shop e niye sodler korai dekhte paren, jodi sudhu port noshto hoye thake tobe thik hoye jabe, kintu controller o noshto hoye thakle thik hobe na.
    what makes you think "sudhu port" nosto hoise, chances are port ok ache vitore jinish fry hoise.


    jai hok the thing is most probably it is down and you need to spend a lot to get something like that. :\

  6. #6
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,097

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    https://www.techshopbd.com/
    ekhan theke rj45 port kinte parben, kine local electrical shop e niye sodler korai dekhte paren, jodi sudhu port noshto hoye thake tobe thik hoye jabe, kintu controller o noshto hoye thakle thik hobe na.
    Koto easy, tai na?

  7. #7
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyder711 View Post
    I think my netgear router's ethernet port is fried after todays lighting storm. I forgot to switch off the router during storm. Now the internet port is not working. The lan ports are ok I think. So is there any way to repair the router?

    secondary which ups has RJ45 port for surge protection? I need one.

    if u have a multimeter check the movs behind the ports if u find the MOVS shorted or find continuity try changing them or simply try disconnecting one of the legs.

    if the disconnection resumes the usual function u found ur problem.


    and pretty much all ups offers Rj45 in and out ports. including offline and online.
    Last edited by minitt; May 16th, 2015 at 01:49.

  8. #8
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    if u have a multimeter check the movs behind the ports if u find the MOVS shorted or find continuity try changing them or simply try disconnecting one of the legs.

    if the disconnection resumes the usual function u found ur problem.


    and pretty much all ups offers Rj45 in and out ports. including offline and online.
    MOVS behind RJ45 port? wut?

    and RJ45 in and out ports and surge protected ports are not exactly the same thing. some cheap ups(my old mercury smart 1200) has RJ45 in out port but thats only for powering, not for surge protecting.

  9. #9

    Default

    Model no. JNR 1010

    multimeter nai and electrical component niye idea kom. so check korte partesina.

    Now one thing is the lan ports are ok. odvut hocche ekta lan port e pc connection die arekta lan port a broadband er line die login korle use korte pari. means output is working as input. Kintu internet/ethernet port a lagale kaj kore na. So i think i have to buy another one.

    Problem 2 online ups ei muhurte afford korte parbo na. Gotokal theke printer er usb port kaj kore na. power on hoy, drum roll kore kintu comman dile command jaina, pc detect korena. So this is also gone due to lighting i think. So have to buy another one.

    Surge protected multiplug lagale ki 2 pin wall port e kaj hobe?

  10. #10
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    then use it in that way! aar internet/Ethernet port abar ki! sobgula port e Ethernet port, LAN or WAN emne bollei hoy.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    MOVS behind RJ45 port? wut?

    and RJ45 in and out ports and surge protected ports are not exactly the same thing. some cheap ups(my old mercury smart 1200) has RJ45 in out port but thats only for powering, not for surge protecting.
    so UPS that offers in n out RJ45 ports are not surge protected?

    n r u saying UPS that provides in/out RJ45 port uses UPS battery to power themselves ??

    - - - Updated - - -

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UPS MOV.JPG 
Views:	8 
Size:	128.4 KB 
ID:	36282 there u go. This is from a offline cheap Rahima afrooza UPS which i used before.

    My assumptions were based on the fact that the same could be implemented within a router. at least for the wan port.

    and in my current UPS it clearly says the ports are surge protected.

    Never saw or heard that these ports provides power. even if they do it would be for a specialized application. not for usual consumers.
    Last edited by minitt; May 16th, 2015 at 17:59.

  12. #12
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    not necessarily, for surge protection you will be needing more than just one MOV, and due to the cost consideration most it can be implemented but is not implemented in most cases,and you should know about these manufacturer if they add a feature even if its very small they brag about it all over the box and websites, i have opened up couple of cheap routers and haven't seen surge protection in any of them.

    my old mercury was just a Power over Ethernet thing, had no surge protection or whatever.

    can't read the marking of the Blue thing, could be a MOV yes but like i was saying only one MOV is not enough for proper surge protection, you will be needing inductor and capacitor, and all im seeing is opto-coupler, diode and register which aren't even connected to the RJ45 pin.

    just google for surge protection circuit/MOV based surge protection circuit, you will see.


    btw my brother just called, his mobo's onboard Ethernet port is down but weird thing is the TP link router is working fine, and even if the mobo said it can protect 50kV ESD still it is down. lol gigabyte!

  13. #13
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    not necessarily, for surge protection you will be needing more than just one MOV, and due to the cost consideration most it can be implemented but is not implemented in most cases,and you should know about these manufacturer if they add a feature even if its very small they brag about it all over the box and websites, i have opened up couple of cheap routers and haven't seen surge protection in any of them.

    my old mercury was just a Power over Ethernet thing, had no surge protection or whatever.

    can't read the marking of the Blue thing, could be a MOV yes but like i was saying only one MOV is not enough for proper surge protection, you will be needing inductor and capacitor, and all im seeing is opto-coupler, diode and register which aren't even connected to the RJ45 pin.

    just google for surge protection circuit/MOV based surge protection circuit, you will see.


    btw my brother just called, his mobo's onboard Ethernet port is down but weird thing is the TP link router is working fine, and even if the mobo said it can protect 50kV ESD still it is down. lol gigabyte!
    u r right about the fact that full array of components are not used.

    But i do stand corrected that UPS do provide at least cheap type of surge protected RJ45. and these ports almost never provide power.

    I'm quite surprised that ur mercury has a POE. Whats the model#? i would like to look into it.

    Online UPS has more serious type of surge protection though. Ill take a picture of mine during the next dust cleaning session.

  14. #14
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    btw my brother just called, his mobo's onboard Ethernet port is down but weird thing is the TP link router is working fine, and even if the mobo said it can protect 50kV ESD still it is down. lol gigabyte!
    Same happened with me. Looks like TP-Links are lightning proof.

  15. #15
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    u r right about the fact that full array of components are not used.

    But i do stand corrected that UPS do provide at least cheap type of surge protected RJ45. and these ports almost never provide power.

    I'm quite surprised that ur mercury has a POE. Whats the model#? i would like to look into it.

    Online UPS has more serious type of surge protection though. Ill take a picture of mine during the next dust cleaning session.
    well most units that i have seen doesn't have surge protection of any type. rahimafroose was actually a good manufacturer so finding a MOV is not unusual.

    It was a very old Smart 1200, from 2005. had disassembled it later to understand more about UPS.i might still have the circuit and show you...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Same happened with me. Looks like TP-Links are lightning proof.
    more like lemme just pass the surge to you too!

    although using im using link3 good thing they give internet via fiber.

Similar Threads

  1. Sale (Used) TP-LINK TD-8840T ADSL2+ modem+router(lan not wifi router) FOR SALE
    By Yasinonic in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 4th, 2015, 00:54
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 28th, 2014, 03:34
  3. router!
    By ss12 in forum ISPros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 28th, 2013, 06:12
  4. Router
    By Xanadu in forum Help - General Shopping
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 4th, 2011, 12:44

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26631 seconds with 15 queries.