User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Bandwidth Export to India

  1. #1
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default Bandwidth Export to India

    "We have too much bandwidth wasted so we can export bandwidth to India" - dialogue of the year

    10Gbps 10 million taka per year

    http://www.thedailystar.net/backpage...a-okayed-78418

    http://bdnews24.com/business/2015/04...xport-to-india

    http://www.dhakatribune.com/business...india-not-july

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    1k BDT or 819 INR for 1 Mbps. Bad deal???

  3. #3
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    We have too much b/w, but lets give it to India. /s

    What a hopeless country we live in.

  4. #4

    Default

    Old news na?

  5. #5
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    1k BDT or 819 INR for 1 Mbps. Bad deal???
    মনোয়ার হোসেন বলেন, ‘আমাদের সাবমেরিন ক্যাবল এসএমডাব্লিউ-৪ থেকে পাওয়া ব্যান্ডউইডথের পরিমাণ এখন ২০০ জিবিপিএস। গড়ে ৩৫ জিবিপিএস ব্যবহৃত হচ্ছে। বাকিটা অব্যবহৃত থাকছে। আমরা দ্বিতীয় সাবমেরিন ক্যাবল এসএমডাব্লিউ-৫-এর সঙ্গে যুক্ত হতে যাচ্ছি। ৫৬০ কোটি টাকা বিনিয়োগের মাধ্যমে ওই সাবমেরিন ক্যাবল থেকে পাওয়া যাবে আরো প্রায় এক হাজার ৪০০ জিবিপিএস ব্যান্ডউইথড। এ ছাড়া আইটিসির (ইন্টারন্যাশনাল টেরেস্ট্রিয়াল ক্যাবল¤) মাধ্যমেও কলকাতা হয়ে বাংলাদেশে ব্যান্ডউইডথ আসছে। এ অবস্থায় ব্যান্ডউইডথ রপ্তানি জরুরি এবং লাভজনক।’
    link

    30gbps being used out of 200 gbps they said, why arent those gbps being used they never said. shouldnt they give the rest of the b/w to isps? then b/w would decrease to 200taka for every 8mbps.... but they wont distribute those b/w... thats why we are disappointed.
    conspiracy theory is- dont think they are dumb enough not to utilize the 170gbps... they actually use that in illegal voip


    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by REVx View Post
    Old news na?
    april 25 2015.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    Well my knowledge is limited in regard to internet businesses, but isn't bandwidth usage dependant on the user-base? And user-base dependant on content? The government already made what...e-bishwakosh or sth. But a capitalist government can only go that far.

  7. #7
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    It has already been discussed here. This is a perfectly fine move, I know you guys want 1Gbps for tk2000 per month but that obviously won't happen.

    Internet penetration and usage is too low in the country and simply reducing prices has not helped. It's not like exporting it will be hampering local supply, as long as the excess is imported, there will be no negative impact.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    It has already been discussed here. This is a perfectly fine move, I know you guys want 1Gbps for tk2000 per month but that obviously won't happen.

    Internet penetration and usage is too low in the country and simply reducing prices has not helped. It's not like exporting it will be hampering local supply, as long as the excess is imported, there will be no negative impact.
    Actually it has helped ,may be not to that extent ,but it has .And considering the fact that i still pay 20 usd per month for a 128KBPS line with a 30gb usage limit ,the whole thing sounds like a bad joke ,only it is not.

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    I don't really see any problem with this, we won't spend money to get better internet so huge % stays unused and we start whining as soon as govt sell the unused portion, I mean i don't get it, If you need high speed internet pay for it, take a package worth 1lakh taka and if govt tells you that you can't take it because they have sold it to india then start whining.

  10. #10
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    We actually need proper infrastructures and internet education before we can actually utilize all that bandwidth. Facebooking is the only thing many ppl do in internet even now. Once the internet penetration gets higher and ppl actually start using it productively en masse, the bandwidth price should start decreasing.

  11. #11
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mulanj View Post
    Actually it has helped ,may be not to that extent ,but it has .And considering the fact that i still pay 20 usd per month for a 128KBPS line with a 30gb usage limit ,the whole thing sounds like a bad joke ,only it is not.
    Whatever the increase, it has not been substantial outside of Dhaka. Wireless internet has improved things a lot but those are quite pricey considering regular internet rate. In that scenario, the cost of the distribution is more important than the bandwidth price itself. Without proper infrastructure, the internet will still be too expensive and not worthwhile for many.

    It also doesn't make sense to continuously reduce bandwidth prices when capacity utilization is low. I wouldn't be surprised if this export actually reduced local prices either.

  12. #12

    Default

    exporting bandwidth is like an transferring your energy resource to is very kind of thing to be shamed. its not like oil or other natural resources. it could be utilized in a more perfect way to boost your country's economy in the field of software or outsourcing. same as to internet we may build a nuclear electricity plant in khulna which may meet up all electricity demands but who knows this won't be ruined exporting to India. We still find lower bandwidth with higher consuming cost here which would never build a infrastructure in the field of outsourcing so well. we guys are kind of.... "we have the electricity or internet but we don't know how to use".....this is totally distressful to mine.

  13. #13
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    It has already been discussed here. This is a perfectly fine move, I know you guys want 1Gbps for tk2000 per month but that obviously won't happen.

    Internet penetration and usage is too low in the country and simply reducing prices has not helped. It's not like exporting it will be hampering local supply, as long as the excess is imported, there will be no negative impact.
    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    Whatever the increase, it has not been substantial outside of Dhaka. Wireless internet has improved things a lot but those are quite pricey considering regular internet rate. In that scenario, the cost of the distribution is more important than the bandwidth price itself. Without proper infrastructure, the internet will still be too expensive and not worthwhile for many.
    i won't say you don't have a point, you do have. but you are still missing a point. let me tell you what happened in BD in the 1980s and 1970s... there were many villages in BD where people afforded taking electricity line. but they didn't want to take electricity, they said they didnt need it, they were fine without it. but once electricity became more and more popular, once they realized the real usage of electricity they wanted it and they wanted it bad... (they need it for irrigation). now every village who doesnt have electricity line wants it, if anybody says he has no use for it... well there absolutely 0 person who would say that.
    there was no prothom alo or jugantor in that time... newspapers were probably sangbad, sangram and inkilab, i read it from a newspaper.


    i believe the internet usage will only increase if its more available throughout the country, people will eventually learn to use internet, they will see online transaction/shopping is much easier and faster. they will see that internet can teach things better than their schools or college do. but beside dhaka internet isnt that avilable just like you said.

    and about the infrastructure cost... you are not completely wrong and you are not right. mobile companies have nearly whole population covered... why b/w price so high? and wimax companies.. selling very limited b/w with low speed in 2015? really? i won't say if b/w gets utilize, wireless b/w price will decrease drastically.... maybe not but it will definitely help a lot. and wired b/w price will definitely decrease a lot which will help us a lot.

    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    It also doesn't make sense to continuously reduce bandwidth prices when capacity utilization is low. I wouldn't be surprised if this export actually reduced local prices either.
    dont take it personally but i laughed a little after reading that... because it makes absolutely no sense to not to use 170gbps b/w. and soon we are going to import large b/w from another submarine cable.. probably 1000gbps line. so tell me why we are even importing more 1000 gbps if we dont have any use for it.

    dont get me wrong... i am not angry because we are exporting b/w. i am angry because we are still using 256 or 512 kbps line where we could use 8mbps at the same price


    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    I don't really see any problem with this, we won't spend money to get better internet so huge % stays unused and we start whining as soon as govt sell the unused portion, I mean i don't get it, If you need high speed internet pay for it, take a package worth 1lakh taka and if govt tells you that you can't take it because they have sold it to india then start whining.
    you just said- i can't complain about the increase of electricity bill and gas bill because i do not own a large factory, i live in a small house.
    thank you for making yourself abundantly clear. i will try my best not to quote you in this thread again.

    - - - Updated - - -

    @CvP whats the problem with BG can't edit my post
    Last edited by furiousTaher; May 10th, 2015 at 03:36.

  14. #14
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    dont take it personally but i laughed a little after reading that... because it makes absolutely no sense to not to use 170gbps b/w. and soon we are going to import large b/w from another submarine cable.. probably 1000gbps line. so tell me why we are even importing more 1000 gbps if we dont have any use for it.

    I suppose you can laugh at me before actually using logic. Lets forget the 300cr that was needed to install the submarine cable just increase everyone's bandwidth at same price point so that we can all watch pornhub at 4k. Who cares about lack on internet infrastructure, just give us our 8Mbps. /s

    I don't know how authentic that electricity story is, but lets assume its true. Tell me one year where there was excess electricity production. You can't and hopefully you will see why the two situations are very different. This one is the type of problem that you want to have.

    This is only a three year commitment, in that three years you think there will be a need for additional 130Gbps of internet? Couple of days ago you were against FB's internet project, now because of that many government services will also be provided for free via cellular internet. But do you honestly think people who can barely read will be able to use online services in a decade?

    Wireless internet packages haven't kept up with price cuts in bandwidth, so why even assume it would be beneficial when there is evidence suggesting otherwise? Obviously, it's not just bandwidth price that leads to this.

    About that additional 1Gbps, you don't know the use for it, so that means there must be no use right? What about backup bandwidth from a different source so that the country doesn't slow down to a crawl every time SEA-ME-WE is damaged? Mind blowing thought right?

    Don't get me wrong, I would never approve if there there was a shred of evidence suggesting there would be local shortage. There is none, and it is fully beneficial to export a portion of the vastly excessive b/w we have now.

  15. #15
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Govt has to pay for the infrastructure and they have to charge accordingly, they just can't give 10Mbps for 20 taka.

    but it is weird that they are importing more.

  16. #16
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    I think I have tried to say it before, and here I'm saying it again. The unused bandwidth is not something we don't need. We need this bandwidth, and we have this bandwidth, but we cannot use this bandwidth, because of internal infrastructure gap. It's not that we want more bandwidth for cheaper price, we will pay for that if we get what we paid for. If anyone doesn't think this is the situation, visit outside Dhaka, try to use internet and you will understand. One specific example would be KUET campus at Khulna. There, at least 2000 internet users are only being served by Banglalion, more specifically, only two wimax base stations. There if you even want to pay twice, you cannot get a stable internet connection with enough usable bandwidth.

    But while our digital government and analogue people cannot develop this infrastructure fast enough, and the bandwidth remains unused, It's still a wise decision to sell it to another country, but only under an uncorrupted authority, who can make sure the money goes back into the government's usable fund, not into private pockets of the officials. I guess that won't be possible either.
    Last edited by Swapnil; May 10th, 2015 at 23:45.

  17. #17
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    >> so tell me why we are even importing more 1000 gbps if we dont have any use for it.

    It's not about capacity, it's about redundancy. Telecommunications is a very volatile field, and the SMW series of cables probably have the worst track record of stability. They get cut left and right because they run through MANY poor countries, and people in these countries keep literally stealing parts of the undersea cable to salvage for steel.

    Now, since the cables operate in a ring, you don't see complete loss of service. What you do see however, is roundabout routing leading to massive latency spikes and packet loss. This is the major problem that the second cable is going to solve.

    As to why this (the export) is a good idea, Aayman's and Swapnil's reply sums it up pretty well. At the end of the day, however subsidized they may be, BSCCL is still a private, for profit company anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Meanwhile in Dota 2 india server
    By Shawon191 in forum Fun
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2015, 01:13
  2. mean while in india, lol
    By KING offspring in forum DOTA 2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 30th, 2014, 01:51
  3. Ebay India ?
    By GalibZ in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: July 8th, 2012, 21:12
  4. India vs Pakistan
    By Arif69 in forum Cricket
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: March 31st, 2011, 01:07
  5. Replies: 52
    Last Post: March 14th, 2009, 19:16

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.29407 seconds with 14 queries.