User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Spare some CPU time?

  1. #1
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default Spare some CPU time?

    I am trying to find the performance of screenshot taken by Java.
    If anyone has some time to spare, you can try my test application. It does the following (in order).


    1. Gets your CPU name and resolution.
    2. Take 600 screenshots (multi-threaded and single threaded). Doesn't store anywhere.
    3. Upon sharing, it posts the result to a Google form.


    Links: Test app | Result

    BTW, will try to record screen activity if test results are positive. So far my core 2 duo giving poor results.
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  2. #2
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShouravBR View Post
    I am trying to find the performance of screenshot taken by Java.
    If anyone has some time to spare, you can try my test application. It does the following (in order).


    1. Gets your CPU name and resolution.
    2. Take 600 screenshots (multi-threaded and single threaded). Doesn't store anywhere.
    3. Upon sharing, it posts the result to a Google form.


    Links: Test app | Result

    BTW, will try to record screen activity if test results are positive. So far my core 2 duo giving poor results.
    tried it out. what is the purpose of the test exactly? I mean if u want to compare CPUs why take screenshots?

  3. #3
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default

    I appreciate you sparing some CPU time. Thanks.

    I was testing one of the Java's method to take screenshots. If tests were good I would use that method to get screenshots, grab running audio and encode them into a video. Make a working Java screen recording application and list it as my personal experience.

    FX-6300 gave a bit better result than i7-3770k. There may be hope for modern rigs, but we would still use Open Broadcaster or similar application than this.
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  4. #4
    Member
    • Syeef's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock Z77 Extreme6 | Corsair Carbide Air 540 Case
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 3770k 3.50GHz | Corsair H110 280mm Water Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 8GB (4x2) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB Blue Sata III
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX680 Twin Frozr III OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung 22-inch LED 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • N/A
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt eSports Theron Laser 5700 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310 Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CS750W Modular 80 Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD-RAM 24x Sata
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JF780 32GB USB 3.0
      • UPS:
      • 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • UTurn Broadband | Banglalion WiMAX
      • Download Speed:
      • ~15 Mbps | 128 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~5 Mbps | 32 KB/s

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    882

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShouravBR View Post
    FX-6300 gave a bit better result than i7-3770k.
    Sorry my system was already under load when i did the test I think I should redo the test.
    Quran 6:159 - there is no sunni, shia under Islam.

    NOTE: I'm leaving this forum.. do not quote, tag, mention or PM me... you won't get a response.

  5. #5
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Syeef View Post
    Sorry my system was already under load when i did the test I think I should redo the test.
    Were you playing a (CPU intensive) game at that moment? That would be make that result worthwhile.
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  6. #6
    Member
    • Syeef's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock Z77 Extreme6 | Corsair Carbide Air 540 Case
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 3770k 3.50GHz | Corsair H110 280mm Water Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 8GB (4x2) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB Blue Sata III
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX680 Twin Frozr III OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung 22-inch LED 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • N/A
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt eSports Theron Laser 5700 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310 Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CS750W Modular 80 Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD-RAM 24x Sata
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JF780 32GB USB 3.0
      • UPS:
      • 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • UTurn Broadband | Banglalion WiMAX
      • Download Speed:
      • ~15 Mbps | 128 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~5 Mbps | 32 KB/s

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    882

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShouravBR View Post
    Were you playing a (CPU intensive) game at that moment? That would be make that result worthwhile.
    I had Photoshop, VS2013 with Phone SDK and other developing tool open at the moment. The SDK alone consumes half my system resources.
    Quran 6:159 - there is no sunni, shia under Islam.

    NOTE: I'm leaving this forum.. do not quote, tag, mention or PM me... you won't get a response.

  7. #7
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Syeef View Post
    I had Photoshop, VS2013 with Phone SDK and other developing tool open at the moment. The SDK alone consumes half my system resources.
    So true about VS2013. My processor doesn't support visualization, otherwise I would at least try the WP SDK. And then maybe buy a Lumia.
    BTW, what are you working on?
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Spare a Min please!
    By redwan hasan in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2013, 17:27
  2. Time Magazine: All-TIME 100 Video Games
    By anik_lc in forum News
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: November 17th, 2012, 11:12
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 13th, 2011, 10:13
  4. FIFA 10 Tips time
    By Marfi in forum Older FIFA Games
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: June 26th, 2010, 12:34
  5. Your top all time fps ever!!!
    By sadi_warhead in forum FPS
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: February 19th, 2009, 21:32

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19097 seconds with 14 queries.