User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52

Thread: UPS and Surge Protector Buying Help!

  1. #1
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    745

    Question UPS and Surge Protector Buying Help!

    The season of thunderstorms and burning PCs is here again and I need to buy an UPS and a Surge Protector.

    Budget is around 5k for the UPS and around 2k for the surge protector. What and from where should I get it?

  2. #2
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MusharratC View Post
    The season of thunderstorms and burning PCs is here again and I need to buy an UPS and a Surge Protector.

    Budget is around 5k for the UPS and around 2k for the surge protector. What and from where should I get it?
    PowerTree 1250VA for 4.8k (Superior Electronics Ltd). And this of Belkin http://www.ryanscomputers.com/Belkin-SUPER-641 for 2.8k. You will get 3 years warranty and 50k moneyback insurance with it.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    I have similar queary as OP.

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    PowerTree 1250VA for 4.8k (Superior Electronics Ltd). And this of Belkin http://www.ryanscomputers.com/Belkin-SUPER-641 for 2.8k. You will get 3 years warranty and 50k moneyback insurance with it.
    Is the power tree one the PowerTree S1250P from here? Does it really support monitoring from PC through USB/RS232 and some software like Rups 2000?

  4. #4
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Is the power tree one the PowerTree S1250P from here? Does it really support monitoring from PC through USB/RS232 and some software like Rups 2000?
    Yes. And yes.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    Yes. And yes.
    Ok, then my search is over. Now I have to find some way to buy it from chittagong.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1 (Currently dead) | Intel DH55TC
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 Ghz (Currently not used) | intel Core i7 860 @ 3.3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600 MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    I regret buying Spark Power 1200VA -_-

  7. #7

    Default

    Shall buy the ups soon. Stupid apollo crap.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Rubab's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B85M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4570 3.2GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 Bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 120 + Samsung HD103SJ 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Dual-X R9270X 2GB
      • Display:
      • Benq V2220HP
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Built-In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Ortek Multimedia MCK-800
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech HD Optical Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX600
      • Optical Drive:
      • Lite-On DVD-RW / Asus-DVDROM
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250P Offline UPS
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • A decent rig. :)
      • ISP:
      • NOT Link3
    Rubab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    I have similar queary as OP.



    Is the power tree one the PowerTree S1250P from here? Does it really support monitoring from PC through USB/RS232 and some software like Rups 2000?
    How much does a USB/RS232 cost? The lowest I found was 520 taka. The name is Z-TEK 1.8M USB to RS232 Cable.
    Name:  Z-TEK-1-8M-USB-to-RS232-Cable.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  18.0 KB
    It is the same product on the picture, but comes on a slightly different packaging.
    Are there any other cheaper option?

  9. #9
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubab View Post
    How much does a USB/RS232 cost? The lowest I found was 520 taka. The name is Z-TEK 1.8M USB to RS232 Cable.
    Name:  Z-TEK-1-8M-USB-to-RS232-Cable.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  18.0 KB
    It is the same product on the picture, but comes on a slightly different packaging.
    Are there any other cheaper option?
    You have a com port in your motherboard. You have also got a RS232 cable for free with your UPS. Plug that into your com port. Done!

  10. #10
    Member
    • Rubab's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B85M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4570 3.2GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 Bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 120 + Samsung HD103SJ 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Dual-X R9270X 2GB
      • Display:
      • Benq V2220HP
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Built-In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Ortek Multimedia MCK-800
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech HD Optical Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX600
      • Optical Drive:
      • Lite-On DVD-RW / Asus-DVDROM
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250P Offline UPS
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • A decent rig. :)
      • ISP:
      • NOT Link3
    Rubab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    You have a com port in your motherboard. You have also got a RS232 cable for free with your UPS. Plug that into your com port. Done!
    I got a white 9-Pin M/F UPS Serial Cable with my UPS:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SMARTUPS15.Main.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	35766

    This is what the Back Panel of the B85M-D3H motherboard looks like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_155453.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	57.6 KB 
ID:	35767

    The Male connector goes to the UPS and the female one goes to I don't know where.

    BTW, I tested using the "PowerManagerLite" and found out that the auto-shutdown function works great but even though I tick the "Turn OFF Ups" option, it doesn't turn the UPS Off.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160617.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	42.7 KB 
ID:	35768Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160618.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	35769

  11. #11
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubab View Post
    I got a white 9-Pin M/F UPS Serial Cable with my UPS:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SMARTUPS15.Main.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	35766

    This is what the Back Panel of the B85M-D3H motherboard looks like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_155453.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	57.6 KB 
ID:	35767

    The Male connector goes to the UPS and the female one goes to I don't know where.

    BTW, I tested using the "PowerManagerLite" and found out that the auto-shutdown function works great but even though I tick the "Turn OFF Ups" option, it doesn't turn the UPS Off.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160617.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	42.7 KB 
ID:	35768Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160618.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	35769
    Com port is in the internal header. That's the problem of newer gigabyte motherboard

  12. #12
    Member
    • Rubab's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B85M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4570 3.2GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL Ripjaws (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 Bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 120 + Samsung HD103SJ 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Dual-X R9270X 2GB
      • Display:
      • Benq V2220HP
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Built-In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Ortek Multimedia MCK-800
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech HD Optical Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX600
      • Optical Drive:
      • Lite-On DVD-RW / Asus-DVDROM
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250P Offline UPS
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • A decent rig. :)
      • ISP:
      • NOT Link3
    Rubab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    Com port is in the internal header. That's the problem of newer gigabyte motherboard
    Yeah, that is a problem. I looked at the manual and failed to find a COM port in the internal header too. Bepar na.

    Is there a solution to the UPS not turning OFF after the PC shuts down?
    The screenshots from my previous post show the Parameter settings of the UPS. Is there anything on there which if changed will also Turn the UPS off?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160617.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	51.6 KB 
ID:	35771

    What does the UPS Polarity settings do?

  13. #13
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubab View Post
    I got a white 9-Pin M/F UPS Serial Cable with my UPS:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SMARTUPS15.Main.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	35766

    This is what the Back Panel of the B85M-D3H motherboard looks like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_155453.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	57.6 KB 
ID:	35767

    The Male connector goes to the UPS and the female one goes to I don't know where.

    BTW, I tested using the "PowerManagerLite" and found out that the auto-shutdown function works great but even though I tick the "Turn OFF Ups" option, it doesn't turn the UPS Off.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160617.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	42.7 KB 
ID:	35768Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_02252015_160618.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	35769
    the port that you are showing is a VGA port not a COM port. u will be needing a header to port thingy to make it work, the header is on the mainboard itself.

  14. #14
    Member
    • GalibTheGamer's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen R5 1600 @4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • Gksill Ripjawas V DDR4 16GB 3000MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 2350GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Philips 223V 21.5 inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K270
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9 (core 3 cracked :P )
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One controller (Wireless)
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 850W
      • USB Devices:
      • A4-Tech PKS-732G Anti-glare WebCam
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
      • ISP:
      • KC Network (3 Mbps)
    GalibTheGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    PowerTree 1250VA for 4.8k (Superior Electronics Ltd). And this of Belkin http://www.ryanscomputers.com/Belkin-SUPER-641 for 2.8k. You will get 3 years warranty and 50k moneyback insurance with it.
    What about the 3.2k Belkin power strip? Is there any difference between the 2.8k strip and the 3.2k strip other than just two additional ports? :/

  15. #15
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GalibTheGamer View Post
    What about the 3.2k Belkin power strip? Is there any difference between the 2.8k strip and the 3.2k strip other than just two additional ports? :/


    Nope. No difference apart from the two additional ports

  16. #16
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    PowerTree 1250VA for 4.8k (Superior Electronics Ltd). And this of Belkin http://www.ryanscomputers.com/Belkin-SUPER-641 for 2.8k. You will get 3 years warranty and 50k moneyback insurance with it.
    does ryans provide the 50k insurance? or do I have to go to speed tech,was it? also, what documents do i need? I don't have a national ID yet so any replacement for that?

    one more question, does the monitoring software come bundled with it or is it a third-party software?

    and VANGUARD bhai ftw!

  17. #17
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MusharratC View Post
    does ryans provide the 50k insurance? or do I have to go to speed tech,was it? also, what documents do i need? I don't have a national ID yet so any replacement for that?

    one more question, does the monitoring software come bundled with it or is it a third-party software?

    and VANGUARD bhai ftw!
    You have to go to speed tech.
    Only National ID card or your father's national ID card who has a TIN number.
    The monitoring software comes bundled with it.

  18. #18
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    You have to go to speed tech.
    Only National ID card or your father's national ID card who has a TIN number.
    The monitoring software comes bundled with it.
    TIN number too? OK. thanks a lot bhai!

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GalibTheGamer View Post
    What about the 3.2k Belkin power strip? Is there any difference between the 2.8k strip and the 3.2k strip other than just two additional ports? :/
    There is, the 2.8K strip will provide you a protection against 46,500 Amps of surge while the 3.2K one will protect you against 86,000 Amps of surge.
    If the surge is higher then the rated protection level, you will not be able to claim warranty nor any damage funding from the vendor you have purchased.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    [/B]
    Nope. No difference apart from the two additional ports
    And for the person showing to know everything but not knowing anything, unless and until someone doesn't know the facts, he should not provide misinformation .

    According to the weather forecast station in BD, usually the type of thunderstorm we have in all out of our country creates 56000 Amps of current spike on average, so if you go for the 2.8K one, good luck with that buy!
    Try to save some more and get the Ultimate 3.2K one, lot of my clients are happy with that particular model and you will be well protected and insured too, whilst the insurance is of 1,00,000 BDT!
    Last edited by FATAL1TY; February 28th, 2015 at 12:38.

  20. #20
    Member
    • GalibTheGamer's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen R5 1600 @4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • Gksill Ripjawas V DDR4 16GB 3000MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 2350GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Philips 223V 21.5 inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K270
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9 (core 3 cracked :P )
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One controller (Wireless)
      • Power Supply:
      • EVGA G2 850W
      • USB Devices:
      • A4-Tech PKS-732G Anti-glare WebCam
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
      • ISP:
      • KC Network (3 Mbps)
    GalibTheGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FATAL1TY View Post
    There is, the 2.8K strip will provide you a protection against 46,500 Amps of surge while the 3.2K one will protect you against 86,000 Amps of surge.
    If the surge is higher then the rated protection level, you will not be able to claim warranty nor any damage funding from the vendor you have purchased.

    - - - Updated - - -


    And for the person showing to know everything but not knowing anything, unless and until someone doesn't know the facts, he should not provide misinformation .

    According to the weather forecast station in BD, usually the type of thunderstorm we have in all out of our country creates 56000 Amps of current spike on average, so if you go for the 2.8K one, good luck with that buy!
    Try to save some more and get the Ultimate 3.2K one, lot of my clients are happy with that particular model and you will be well protected and insured too, whilst the insurance is of 1,00,000 BDT!
    Thanks a lot for the info bro

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Did your PS Vita came with a screen protector?
    By muscle in forum PSP/PS Vita
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 13th, 2013, 04:24
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 8th, 2012, 02:28
  3. what is the function of a surge protector.
    By Metal in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 4th, 2012, 19:56
  4. Google Revenue Surge Sets Record
    By Riese in forum News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 18th, 2011, 22:21
  5. Surge Protector
    By sameev29 in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 15th, 2009, 22:24

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.32073 seconds with 15 queries.