User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wire disconnected from pin

  1. #1
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default Wire disconnected from pin

    When I was pulling out the CPU heat sink, it must have pulled on the 4-pin CPU connector and one wire (black) came out of the pin. Figured this after I got no post beep and display, but the fans were spinning.

    Does warranty or PC service shop fix this type of damage?
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  2. #2
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    1. What is a 4 pin CPU connector? CPU's don't have connectors.

    2. There are 2 types of 4 pin connectors near CPU, first one is the CPU fan connector, and second one is the CPU power connector that comes from the power supply. But many modern motherboards have 8 pin connectors there.

    3. Post a picture please.

  3. #3
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShouravBR View Post
    When I was pulling out the CPU heat sink, it must have pulled on the 4-pin CPU connector and one wire (black) came out of the pin. Figured this after I got no post beep and display, but the fans were spinning.

    Does warranty or PC service shop fix this type of damage?
    just put that black wire in any of the black wires of the PSU, maybe a FDD connectors black pin.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	picture.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	35757

    - - - Updated - - -

    note: assume the green wire to be the black wire from your cpu cooler.

  4. #4
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    1. What is a 4 pin CPU connector? CPU's don't have connectors.

    2. There are 2 types of 4 pin connectors near CPU, first one is the CPU fan connector, and second one is the CPU power connector that comes from the power supply. But many modern motherboards have 8 pin connectors there.

    3. Post a picture please.
    Yes, my PSU provides 4+4 pin connector instead of a 8 pin connector

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    just put that black wire in any of the black wires of the PSU, maybe a FDD connectors black pin.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	picture.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	35757

    - - - Updated - - -

    note: assume the green wire to be the black wire from your cpu cooler.
    Don't know how to insert one into the CPU power connector.

    Took my PSU to a service shop, they replaced the connector and taped over wire connections (kinda feels messy). No beeps again after turning on. Checking connection, I found a brush hair inside the CPU socket. Got beeps after removing it.

    Thanks for the tech support for my embarrassing situation.
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  5. #5
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Damn, my apology, i thought the 4pin fan connector :S

    It can be easily repaired thn. If u have any other power supply lying around, just chop off 12V rail and replace it

  6. #6
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Damn, my apology, i thought the 4pin fan connector :S

    It can be easily repaired thn. If u have any other power supply lying around, just chop off 12V rail and replace it
    ^ the easiest solution. just make sure to use soldering iron to make the 4 joints and individually tape them.

  7. #7
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    ^ the easiest solution. just make sure to use soldering iron to make the 4 joints and individually tape them.
    forgot to mention yes solder it not just twist them together. and use tape or better if u have heat shrink tubings.

  8. #8
    Member
    • ShouravBR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B150M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel i3-6100
      • RAM:
      • 2x DDR4 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend 128GB; Toshiba 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R7 260x 2GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster (1920x1080)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Hercules x580
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • Minecraftable.
      • ISP:
      • ICC 2Mbps
      • Console:
      • 8
    ShouravBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Well I didn't have a spare, so I had to take it to a PC service store, they did that and taped it.
    I was hoping they would push out the pin, crimp wire to a new pin and push it in.

    Anyway the problem was solved. Reconnected wire and pulled out the brush hair from CPU socket.
    Last edited by ShouravBR; February 24th, 2015 at 23:35. Reason: typo
    ShouravBR
    Student
    Battle.net: Quack#1807 (America)
    League of Legends: Quackado (EU)
    Steam: Quacker (Dota 2 & CSGO)

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShouravBR View Post
    Well I didn't have a spare, so I had to take it to a PC service store, they did that and taped it.
    I was hoping they would push out the pin, crimp wire to a new pin and push it in.

    Anyway the problem was solved. Reconnected wire and pulled out the brush hair from CPU socket.
    good for u!

Similar Threads

  1. Disconnected from server. Help!
    By Slayer_ in forum DOTA 2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 17th, 2012, 19:41
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: September 9th, 2012, 14:33
  3. Getting Disconnected Every 10min.
    By Tarik in forum Garena Central
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 24th, 2011, 12:21
  4. CoD 4 Banglalion gets disconnected when trying to play COD 4 in Gameranger
    By sunnynchelsea in forum Call of Duty
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 31st, 2011, 04:32

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21056 seconds with 15 queries.