User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Core 2 quad processor question

  1. #1
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default Core 2 quad processor question

    Is Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 or Q6700 processor available in Bangladesh.At present I have a Pentium Dual-Core E5200 2.5Ghz and my motherboard is Gigabyte G31.I don't want to change my motherboard.That's why I want to buy Quad Core processor as it will support them.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    They are off production I suppose....haven't seen new ARCs coming out in last some monthes...and in BD hell NO!!!

  3. #3
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    Will a Core 2 Quad be better than Core i3 530.I mean Core i3 is 2 core and Core 2 Quad is 4 core processor.But from benchmarks I have seen alost in evry game Core i3 is better than Core 2 Quad.But won't Core 2 Quad be more future proof as future games will require 4 cores to run.Need good answer.

  4. #4
    Member
    • proton_chain's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • 4x4GB DDR3-1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 6.5TB (3TB+2TB+1TB+.5TB)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia Geforce GTX 760 4GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung Syncmaster 22 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • TT Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Bloody V3M
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony Optiarc DVD burner
      • USB Devices:
      • Blue Yeti USB Microphone
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
    proton_chain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    Core i3-530 has 2 physical but 4 logical cores through hyperthreading. So, games will "see" 4 threads coming. And it performs better than just "2 cores". If you are into technical specifications, here is the comparison. As you did not mention any model number, I brought Core 2 Quad Q9550 in the comparison which is clocked @ 2.83 GHz whereas the i3-530 is clocked @ 2.93 GHz.

    Those were technical data, but to you need benchmarks to see what does what. Here, you can see that in most cases, the i3 is almost on par with the Q9550 (~80% performance), which is almost 2.5 times more expensive. Slower quadcores get pawned by the i3 in benchmarks. Also, i3 has low TDP, so you do not need to worry about electricity bill when you run it 24/7. A 2.6 GHz or lower clocked quad core will be slaughtered by the dual core i3. For example, Q9300 @ 2.5 GHz is embarrassed in this benchmark.

    And when you are comparing CPUs, keep the thing "generation" in mind. Faster clock speed is not always better. A 3 GHz Pentium D is slower than a 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo as C2D chips can do much more work per clock cycle. Same goes for i3 and Core 2 Quad, even though the difference is not so radical.


  5. #5

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    @ Sameev, give u'r full PC specifications.

    & if u wanna buy a C2Q, then Q8300/Q8400 will be u'r best choices.

    But IMO, stay with u'r E5200 ATM. Upgrade to Core i5-750/760 + P55 later on.

  6. #6
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    My pc information:Motherboard-Gigabyte G31,Processor-Intel E5200 2.5ghz,Ram-Transcend 2GB,Power supply-A Chinese 400watt,Graphics card-Was XFX 9800GT 1 GB(Got broken in March 2010)..

  7. #7
    Member
    • Mohiuddin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth X58
      • CPU:
      • Xeon X5650
      • RAM:
      • 8gb gskill ripjaw
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital 1TB blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX670 4GB
      • Display:
      • now with TV
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech
      • Controller:
      • Nai
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte 1200w OdinPro
      • Optical Drive:
      • Generic
      • UPS:
      • Apatoto nai
      • Operating System:
      • win 7
      • ISP:
      • Netvision
      • Download Speed:
      • Janina, 3Mbps may be
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload...

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Uttara,dhaka
    Posts
    4,165

    Default Re: Core 2 quad processor question

    Quote Originally Posted by sameev29 View Post
    My pc information:Motherboard-Gigabyte G31,Processor-Intel E5200 2.5ghz,Ram-Transcend 2GB,Power supply-A Chinese 400watt,Graphics card-Was XFX 9800GT 1 GB(Got broken in March 2010)..
    'xfx' born 2 be broken.btw,i hav q6600 . My motherboard (intel.dg33fb)doesn't support o.c.(o.g.k why i bought that s*ht).is there any ways 2 oc it with that motherboard.if no, which mobo will i buy?how ecs-p45 would?nd,how far i can push my proccessor with stock cooler?

Similar Threads

  1. Want to Buy Core 2 Quad 8XXX series or Core 2 Quad 9XXX series processor
    By EBL.Mantis in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2010, 09:22
  2. QUAD-CORE Processor For Mobile
    By 61ZONE in forum Tech News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 18th, 2010, 07:14
  3. Want to Buy I Want to buy a Pentium Dual Core/Core 2 duo Processor
    By naruto in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 4th, 2010, 05:13
  4. Want to Buy anyone selling a Core 2 Quad processor??
    By pyromaster901 in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 21st, 2010, 15:08
  5. question<processor>
    By abir in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 10th, 2008, 22:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19836 seconds with 14 queries.