User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Sound Card for audio.

  1. #1
    Member
    • IMNOPRO's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH55HC
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 530 @ 2.93Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb DDR3 Twinmos 1333 and Transcend 4gb 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung HD502HJ
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7750 1gb DDR5
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1953TE 768p
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech KR-83

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    57

    Default Sound Card for audio.

    So I burnt my audio chip and now my pc does not have any sound output. The softwares say its fine but nothing on hardware. I was thinking if I can add a sound card to get my audio back. At present I don't have the money to replace whole mobo. My specs:
    Processor: Core i3 530 @ 2.93GHz
    Motherboard: Intel DH55HC
    GPU: Sapphire HD7750 1gb ddr5 (Gonna get a r7 265)
    PSU: Thermaltake 750W Smart
    Ram: 2gb ddr3 Twinmos and 4gb ddr3 Transcend (Total 6gb)
    On a side note Anyone know if I can get a PCI 1.0 to PCI 2.0 converter?

  2. #2
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IMNOPRO View Post
    So I burnt my audio chip and now my pc does not have any sound output. The softwares say its fine but nothing on hardware. I was thinking if I can add a sound card to get my audio back. At present I don't have the money to replace whole mobo. My specs:
    Processor: Core i3 530 @ 2.93GHz
    Motherboard: Intel DH55HC
    GPU: Sapphire HD7750 1gb ddr5 (Gonna get a r7 265)
    PSU: Thermaltake 750W Smart
    Ram: 2gb ddr3 Twinmos and 4gb ddr3 Transcend (Total 6gb)
    On a side note Anyone know if I can get a PCI 1.0 to PCI 2.0 converter?
    you sure the codec is activated in the bios?

  3. #3
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    you sure the codec is activated in the bios?
    If the codec was disabled in bios the software or device manager wouldn't show it. I've seen this case before on my friend's PC, the chip or something on the audio circuitry is really damaged (if obviously OP is not missing some tiny mute button on some hidden place of his driver settings). In case of my friend he RMA'd his mobo, same thing happened again, and after 7 dead motherboards, 1 dead GPU, 2 dead RAMs he had to replace his power supply.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Rawkill's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z77 Extreme 6
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz/ Phanteks PH-TC14PE
      • RAM:
      • Kingston Hyper X Genesis 2 x 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB x 2
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Geforce GTX 970 Gaming 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H 23-inch IPS Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster ZX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80ohm, Oppo HA-2 Amp, FnD 6000U 5.1 Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G502 Spectrum, Razer Goliath Speed Extended (Overwatch Edition)
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F510 Rumblepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Harry Potter (HP) DVD-RW
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
      • Comment:
      • Cooler Master HAF - X
      • ISP:
      • Dot Internet
      • Download Speed:
      • 550-600 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200-2500 KB/s
    Rawkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by swapnil View Post
    7 dead motherboards, 1 dead gpu, 2 dead rams
    O.O


  5. #5
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawkill View Post
    O.O
    Yap. All within 2 years, all covered by warranty. So no worries. I just don't get it why did the shop take so long to find the actual problem.

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    If the codec was disabled in bios the software or device manager wouldn't show it. I've seen this case before on my friend's PC, the chip or something on the audio circuitry is really damaged (if obviously OP is not missing some tiny mute button on some hidden place of his driver settings). In case of my friend he RMA'd his mobo, same thing happened again, and after 7 dead motherboards, 1 dead GPU, 2 dead RAMs he had to replace his power supply.
    didnt notice that "software say its fine" portion. anyway i was just checking
    things happen!

    and yes something can go wrong thats for sure!

  7. #7
    Member
    • IMNOPRO's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH55HC
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 530 @ 2.93Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb DDR3 Twinmos 1333 and Transcend 4gb 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung HD502HJ
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7750 1gb DDR5
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1953TE 768p
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech KR-83

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    If the codec was disabled in bios the software or device manager wouldn't show it. I've seen this case before on my friend's PC, the chip or something on the audio circuitry is really damaged (if obviously OP is not missing some tiny mute button on some hidden place of his driver settings). In case of my friend he RMA'd his mobo, same thing happened again, and after 7 dead motherboards, 1 dead GPU, 2 dead RAMs he had to replace his power supply.
    Yes I posted this problem on another thread for a fix. Someone (maybe you) posted something similar about the PSU. So I should get a sound card. As far as I know though the audio chip fried after my attempts at overclocking this CPU. Also the room I was in previously was warmer so CPU temps stayed around 90+'C
    (yes thats a quotation mark) so that could be the reason. Again SO I SHOULD GET A SOUND CARD OR WHAT?

  8. #8
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IMNOPRO View Post
    Yes I posted this problem on another thread for a fix. Someone (maybe you) posted something similar about the PSU. So I should get a sound card. As far as I know though the audio chip fried after my attempts at overclocking this CPU. Also the room I was in previously was warmer so CPU temps stayed around 90+'C
    (yes thats a quotation mark) so that could be the reason. Again SO I SHOULD GET A SOUND CARD OR WHAT?
    Which PSU do you have? And how old is the motherboard and the PSU?

    Yes you should get a soundcard if you cannot replace the motherboard. But I'll suggest replacing the motherboard would be a better idea. But before that make absolutely sure that you have tested everything software related. Check your bios, or maybe even reset your bios. Check every section of the audio driver settings. Maybe if you have time try with a fresh windows reinstall. Also check audio jacks, see if your audio driver supports jack retasking, and set some other jack as audio output. Finally check if changing from front panel to back panel (or vice versa, whatever applies to your case). After all, it would be stupid to replace working hardware for a software fault, right?

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    U can get some usb sound card of some sort, should get the job done fot now, and check ur psu and mobo to avoid future catastrophe

  10. #10
    Member
    • IMNOPRO's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH55HC
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 530 @ 2.93Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb DDR3 Twinmos 1333 and Transcend 4gb 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung HD502HJ
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7750 1gb DDR5
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1953TE 768p
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech KR-83

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Which PSU do you have? And how old is the motherboard and the PSU?

    Yes you should get a soundcard if you cannot replace the motherboard. But I'll suggest replacing the motherboard would be a better idea. But before that make absolutely sure that you have tested everything software related. Check your bios, or maybe even reset your bios. Check every section of the audio driver settings. Maybe if you have time try with a fresh windows reinstall. Also check audio jacks, see if your audio driver supports jack retasking, and set some other jack as audio output. Finally check if changing from front panel to back panel (or vice versa, whatever applies to your case). After all, it would be stupid to replace working hardware for a software fault, right?
    Done and done. Already did all the troubleshooting here. I use a Thermaltake Smart 750W 80 Plus Bronze power supply that I brought with me from the US. The mobo is Intel DH55HC Media series Standard ATX mobo.

  11. #11
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Then just get a sound card. If you get something decent you'll get much better audio quality than a replaced motherboard's onboard audio.

  12. #12
    Member
    • IMNOPRO's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH55HC
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 530 @ 2.93Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb DDR3 Twinmos 1333 and Transcend 4gb 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung HD502HJ
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7750 1gb DDR5
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1953TE 768p
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech KR-83

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I found a few decent ones on ryans. Thermal take would be best right?

  13. #13
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Thermaltake makes soundcards too??!! I didn't know. I personally like Asus and Creative. If you don't absolutely need USB take a look at this. It's a really good card at for this price.

  14. #14
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Thermaltake makes soundcards too??!! I didn't know. I personally like Asus and Creative. If you don't absolutely need USB take a look at this. It's a really good card at for this price.
    what if this one fires too!

  15. #15
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    what if this one fires too!
    If it happens within 1 year then no problem. He'll just claim warranty for soundcard and replace the PSU.

  16. #16
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    If it happens within 1 year then no problem. He'll just claim warranty for soundcard and replace the PSU.
    Usb should be a bit more safe

  17. #17
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Usb should be a bit more safe
    Not sure about that. The power is still coming from the motherboard, as for the PCI-E card. On the other hand, I'm sceptical about the quality of thermaltake audio. I have more trust in asus. Asus have USB DACs too, but they would be more costly.

  18. #18
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Not sure about that. The power is still coming from the motherboard, as for the PCI-E card. On the other hand, I'm sceptical about the quality of thermaltake audio. I have more trust in asus. Asus have USB DACs too, but they would be more costly.
    Usually usb ports come with fuses and current limiter so thr should be less chance of getting fried but that card should yield more performance than tts audio.

  19. #19
    Member
    • IMNOPRO's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH55HC
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 530 @ 2.93Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb DDR3 Twinmos 1333 and Transcend 4gb 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung HD502HJ
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7750 1gb DDR5
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1953TE 768p
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech KR-83

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Nowhere, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I don't think PSU is the problem. My GPU is fine. I've had it for two years now. No problems whatsoever. Even after I OC the thing. I fried the audio probably because it was reaching near 120 temps. All I did to OC the cpu was change the multiplier to around 50 I think. It was 30 on default. Anyone know where I might get a PCI 1.0 to 2.0 converter?
    Last edited by IMNOPRO; January 8th, 2015 at 21:51.

  20. #20
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IMNOPRO View Post
    I don't think PSU is the problem. My GPU is fine. I've had it for two years now. No problems whatsoever. Even after I OC the thing. I fried the audio probably because it was reaching near 120 temps. All I did to OC the cpu was change the multiplier to around 50 I think. It was 30 on default. Anyone know where I might get a PCI 1.0 to 2.0 converter?
    That's highly unlikely.
    Why do u need the converter?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sale (Used) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI Express Sound Card
    By areek in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2013, 23:34
  2. Sale (Used) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI Express Sound Card
    By Red Devil in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 30th, 2012, 17:27
  3. Sale (New) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
    By OoAIDoO in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: July 27th, 2011, 08:50
  4. Sale (New) Sound Card: M-AUDIO PRO TOOLS M.POWERED 7 Firewire Solo
    By sadi_warhead in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 26th, 2011, 03:00
  5. Sale (Used) Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY Value 7:1 Sound Card
    By Reventon in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 10th, 2011, 17:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.30050 seconds with 14 queries.