User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

  1. #1
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

    i was using MSI afterburner. i ve enabled every possible options for over-volting, but the voltage sliding bar is all "grey"ed out!
    In the hardware monitor section,It doesnt even have the voltage graph! What is wrong!
    now don tell me i have bought a 24000 taka GPU for that bullcrap!
    and what is that chicken crap im hearing about a card being "reference" or "non-reference"!! what do they even mean??!!

    forgive my vulgarity my frnds..im a "little" pissed.


  2. #2
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

    Quote Originally Posted by shohag2018 View Post
    i was using MSI afterburner. i ve enabled every possible options for over-volting, but the voltage sliding bar is all "grey"ed out!
    In the hardware monitor section,It doesnt even have the voltage graph! What is wrong!
    now don tell me i have bought a 24000 taka GPU for that bullcrap!
    and what is that chicken crap im hearing about a card being "reference" or "non-reference"!! what do they even mean??!!

    forgive my vulgarity my frnds..im a "little" pissed.
    Reference design/board is the design which AMD lays out and the board manufacturers (ASUS, MSI etc) use it after a GPU launch. Eventually after a few months, they design their own boards with different components than the ones found in the AMD reference design

    The reference board uses a Volterra Digital PWM which allows for voltage tweak through software. Some manufacturers still use it, some changed the reference design board keeping a Digital PWM while some manufacturers switched to an analog PWM. In your case, unfortuntely, the latter is true. Its not only Sapphire, many other manufacturers dont allow voltage tweak anymore due to their use of Analog PWM. Also, some manufacturers only allow it on certain versions of their cards. Hence you cannot change the voltage

    Stock voltage should be good for ~830 core though. Whats your stable max OC?
    Last edited by Mazhar; September 19th, 2010 at 06:11.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

    Brother, No need to push Voltage if you are not planning OC HD5850 over 800MHz....
    and if you don't play all the time then i see no need of OC this monster and also if pc is run by 24 hours all the time i would suggest not to OC.

  4. #4
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default Re: Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    Reference design/board is the design which AMD lays out and the board manufacturers (ASUS, MSI etc) use it after a GPU launch. Eventually after a few months, they design their own boards with different components than the ones found in the AMD reference design

    The reference board uses a Volterra Digital PWM which allows for voltage tweak through software. Some manufacturers still use it, some changed the reference design board keeping a Digital PWM while some manufacturers switched to an analog PWM. In your case, unfortuntely, the latter is true. Its not only Sapphire, many other manufacturers dont allow voltage tweak anymore due to their use of Analog PWM. Also, some manufacturers only allow it on certain versions of their cards. Hence you cannot change the voltage

    Stock voltage should be good for ~830 core though. Whats your stable max OC?
    yeah..i found out the facts.I dint know they change some of the factory options,i thought they are only for coolers and exterior coverings.certainly dint kno they were called "non-reference" cards! but I appreciate that u took some time out to answer.
    mine was stable @catalyst upper limitations. then i thought...wait, as this one and 5870 has the same physical core, why dont i start with the stock voltage of 5870 ?! and that happened. im guessing..i ll just have to live with that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumon View Post
    Brother, No need to push Voltage if you are not planning OC HD5850 over 800MHz....
    and if you don't play all the time then i see no need of OC this monster and also if pc is run by 24 hours all the time i would suggest not to OC.
    OCing my GPU is not a necessity right now, just wanted to see how far it goes..and u re actually right if i can get upto 800MHz, the rest improvements are negligible...maybe 2-3 fps.
    thanks for answering btw.

  5. #5
    Member
    • proton_chain's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • 4x4GB DDR3-1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 6.5TB (3TB+2TB+1TB+.5TB)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia Geforce GTX 760 4GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung Syncmaster 22 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • TT Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Bloody V3M
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony Optiarc DVD burner
      • USB Devices:
      • Blue Yeti USB Microphone
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
    proton_chain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,113

    Default Re: Sapphire 5850 overclock : CANT OVER VOLT !!

    I did not touch my voltage and got 850/1150 stable. It depends solely on the card. I do not recommend a "mild" overclock just for 2 fps, but you may want to do a high overclock to push your 30 fps Crysis to 40 fps.


Similar Threads

  1. How to overclock p4 2.26?
    By Dee in forum CPU
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 6th, 2010, 22:31
  2. Replies: 32
    Last Post: August 30th, 2010, 21:52
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 11th, 2010, 23:58
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 5th, 2009, 10:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.18571 seconds with 14 queries.