User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Win 8.1 and RDP connections

  1. #1

    Default Win 8.1 and RDP connections

    Very new to 8.1 and have the following Q.

    Bajarey sleeve e je Win 8.1 kintey pawa jai, -original- supposedly the 'home' version oitatey ki remote desktop connection feature built-in asey?

    We set one up but unable to rdp to it internally in the office. I can rdp out frm the 8.1 but cannot rdp in from internal machines. PC can b controlled remotely - has been turned on.


    8.1 home e kisu features ki nai naki?

    If so, then which s/w to use for rdp?
    Last edited by REVx; November 29th, 2014 at 15:14.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Shawon191's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H-61
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3570s 3.1 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair XMS3 4 GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 660
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229H
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M223
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • SteelSeries Rival
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 500W
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Aamra Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 3 mbps
    Shawon191's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,019

  3. #3
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by REVx View Post
    Very new to 8.1 and have the following Q.

    Bajarey sleeve e je Win 8.1 kintey pawa jai, -original- supposedly the 'home' version oitatey ki remote desktop connection feature built-in asey?

    We set one up but unable to rdp to it internally in the office. I can rdp out frm the 8.1 but cannot rdp in from internal machines. PC can b controlled remotely - has been turned on.


    8.1 home e kisu features ki nai naki?

    If so, then which s/w to use for rdp?
    Home doesn't have RDP, period.

    A popular option is teamviewer, another might be Chrome's desktop sharing.

  4. #4
    Member
    • -RAKIB-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2310 (2.9 Ghz)--Stock Clock--Stock Fan
      • RAM:
      • PQI-4gb-1333 Bus-single stick.
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG Sata-2 (320gb)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte 660-OC-2GB-Windforce2..
      • Display:
      • Samsung B1930-LCD-18.5 inch :(
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in.
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire T3200 (2:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • Value Top-normal (multimedia)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7..
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 550w- Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster-- Not using currently -_-
      • USB Devices:
      • Apacer 8gb Pendrive-usb2-_-
      • UPS:
      • Prolink-650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7-Ultimate-64bit
      • Comment:
      • Gaming is fun, but Acquiring a Satisfactory setup for it is not -_-
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 190kpbs
      • Upload Speed:
      • Havn't checked yet!
    -RAKIB-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    923

    Default

    Vaia, I use teamviewer To control pc from android.. It's good
    Why so Serious!

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    Home doesn't have RDP, period.

    A popular option is teamviewer, another might be Chrome's desktop sharing.
    ^^this, alongside I would suggest you to stop using those modified home or jhalmuri edition of windows, buy a genuine one or use MSDN hash checked image with proper activator.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by REVx View Post
    8.1 home e kisu features ki nai naki?

    If so, then which s/w to use for rdp?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_8_editions

    For Windows 8 (Core Edition, not Pro and Enterprise) RDP is Client Only. It cannot host RDP server. And 8.1 editions are exactly similar to 8 editions.

    Quote Originally Posted by -RAKIB- View Post
    Vaia, I use teamviewer To control pc from android.. It's good
    Teamviewer is best for PC to PC RD. But from android, I find Splashtop better. It supports Windows 8.1 touch features 100%, and uses a special image compression system so the framerate doesn't drop usually, and the input lags are minimum too.

  7. #7
    Member
    • -RAKIB-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2310 (2.9 Ghz)--Stock Clock--Stock Fan
      • RAM:
      • PQI-4gb-1333 Bus-single stick.
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG Sata-2 (320gb)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte 660-OC-2GB-Windforce2..
      • Display:
      • Samsung B1930-LCD-18.5 inch :(
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in.
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire T3200 (2:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • Value Top-normal (multimedia)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7..
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 550w- Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster-- Not using currently -_-
      • USB Devices:
      • Apacer 8gb Pendrive-usb2-_-
      • UPS:
      • Prolink-650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7-Ultimate-64bit
      • Comment:
      • Gaming is fun, but Acquiring a Satisfactory setup for it is not -_-
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 190kpbs
      • Upload Speed:
      • Havn't checked yet!
    -RAKIB-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    923

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post

    Teamviewer is best for PC to PC RD. But from android, I find Splashtop better. It supports Windows 8.1 touch features 100%, and uses a special image compression system so the framerate doesn't drop usually, and the input lags are minimum too.
    Thank You! I'll give it a try
    Why so Serious!

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks to all for their input.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Aasifz View Post
    ^^this, alongside I would suggest you to stop using those modified home or jhalmuri edition of windows, buy a genuine one or use MSDN hash checked image with proper activator.
    This is a genuine licensed windows given by provider whom did not know abt this RDP business. Activated, so now he won't take it back.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_8_editions

    For Windows 8 (Core Edition, not Pro and Enterprise) RDP is Client Only. It cannot host RDP server. And 8.1 editions are exactly similar to 8 editions.
    So, by this info, if I had two 8.1 home PC, they would not b able to rdp into each other?

  9. #9
    Noblesse Oblige
    • CvP's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77 V Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770K @3.9GHz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 @2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 256GB SSD; WD Caviar Black 2TB; Hitachi 250GB; Samsung S3 1.5TB; Hitachi 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 980Ti 6GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung 17"+22"+22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio <internal>
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • G7
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X 850W 80Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • External DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Logitech Carl Zeiss Tessar HD 1080p Webcam
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1500VA with Large Lead-Acid Battery
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Everything packed in a NZXT Phantom 820
      • ISP:
      • Link3/Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 10000
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10000
    CvP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    9,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by REVx View Post
    So, by this info, if I had two 8.1 home PC, they would not b able to rdp into each other?
    No, they can't.

    Windows home versions can only RDP in to others; you can not RDP in to Windows home version. You need Pro (or above).
    The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power.
    Please do not PM me for support. You will NOT get a reply. Post in the relevant forum section.

  10. #10

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 6th, 2012, 16:23
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2012, 01:04
  3. 2 net connections,2 apps,1 PC
    By S_F.darkzone in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2011, 23:07
  4. two smile connections on one pc?
    By mr_08 in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2010, 19:19

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.22211 seconds with 14 queries.