User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

  1. #1
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    Mod requirement:

    Required Part List
    1. 12v DC operated relay which can handle 5A 22o/240 AC ( i used omron relay made in malaysia from stadium @ 100taka. The relay base (50taka) is precisely made for this relay)

    and 5A 28V DC.see the pix for full spec. The relay i used consists of 4

    set of Slots. completely seperated from each other

    2.A relay base to make the mod more professional and safe.

    if u cant find the base or dun want to spend 50 taka then u must solder all the the points by urself. (which i dont recommand)

    3.1 Feet wire X 4 ( make sure they are thick enough to carry 500to 600 watt of electricy or above or according to ur wattage requirement)

    the choice is urs.

    --------------------
    tools required for the mod.

    1. total 10 fingers.

    2.star screw driver.

    3.Soldering iron => for soldering cable joints

    4.Digital Multi Meter

    Optional tools: handy but not exclusively required.

    1. IN4001 DIODE

    2. Spare PSU for test purpose only.

    3. electricity tester ( the typical tester dat we poke in the socket to check electricity)

    --------------------

    Procedure:

    Step1: 1st try to identify the power switch in ur UPS. this switch is responsible to turn on/off the UPS.

    take a look at the PIX to identify this switch fuction.

    in my case 1&2 (set1) is for AC and 3&4(set2) is for turning on/off speaker(beep beep nd other functions) signaling.however both set needs to be turned on and off together.

    so u can not or should not turn on set 1 while keeping set 2 off. or vice versa.

    In your case things might be even more simpler. (u mi8 have the switch woking for AC only). So, inspect urself.


    Step2: Now that u have understood the power switch. U need to connect 2 piece of wire to 1 and 2 .see the pix.

    Now connect 2 wire to 3 & 4.


    All THE CABLE JOINTS MUST BE SOLDERED TO AVOID LOOSE CONNECTION.

    So in total ull have 4 wire coming out from the UPS. (1,2)and (3,4)

    (i have 6 wire. becaz i connected two wire for 2 and two wire for 1 so dat i can utilize 1 extra slot on the relay for redundency purpose[optional])


    Step3: 1.0 Now take a look at the relay with pin numbers crafted on the bottom of it.


    follow the pictures which should be able to guide u through.



    Step3:1.1 (optinal) when a relay looses power the megnetic coil discharges elctricity that goes back to PSU. We dont want that. But modern PSU should be able handle this quite nicely.

    Still im using it ...just in case...as a safe bet.


    (Its better if u can find a relay which has a resistor or diode built-in. u can aviod step 3 if u can find these.)

    anyway in order to protect the psu from relay backfire voltage u have to connect a Diode (IN4001) between the 12V line which will be powering the relay. Follow the layout on the
    PICTURE.

    So, if every thing is done properly, 1st turn the power switch of UPS to ON and turn ur PC ON which will pass 12V to relay and the relay will short the 1,2 and 3,4 (they r

    already shorted since u manually turned the UPS switch on just a while ago. So once the PC is on u can safely turn the UPS switch to OFF but ur PC is still running since the
    role of UPS power switch is shifted to relay and the relay is in ON mode. NOw when a shutdown is initiated by the UPS software or any other software or manual shutdown , the UPS will only turn off after the PC shutdown.

    For those who dont have a UPS monitoring software to initiate shutdown on power failure can go for 1 additional MOD which ill discuss later on.

    That is all for now. and ill be glad to to assist u if u still need any.

    Thnx for going through this DIY.

    Minitt.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	switch.JPG 
Views:	79 
Size:	68.5 KB 
ID:	3963   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connect.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	41.8 KB 
ID:	3964   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connect 2md.JPG 
Views:	70 
Size:	50.7 KB 
ID:	3965   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relay.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	166.3 KB 
ID:	3966   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DIODE small.JPG 
Views:	92 
Size:	29.3 KB 
ID:	3967  

    Last edited by minitt; July 15th, 2010 at 01:25.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    The power on switch may be different in other UPS. If thats the case then i would suggest to fully understand this MOD 1st then u can do it anyway u like.

    however the Auto wakeup feature is not added in this thread. Because i added this feature only few days back.

    I Will update this MOD if user feedback is good.

    Feel free to ask me if u need more clarification.


    BTW if u r not confident enough about the whole thing i would SAY DO NOT try it.

    u can always pay me if u want me to do the whole thing as i have 15 days of spare time.
    Last edited by minitt; July 15th, 2010 at 01:20.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Exiled_SouL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus-p8B75-v
      • CPU:
      • i5-3470
      • RAM:
      • Corsair vengeance-8gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • Wd-1TB,Samsung/Hitachi-500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Gtx-670 DirectCU II-2Gb
      • Display:
      • Asus-22"+Samsung ES-5500 40" led smart Tv
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster-Z
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7c/Skull Candy
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G-510
      • Mouse:
      • Razer-Lachesis,A4tech X-747 with Steelseries QCK mini
      • Controller:
      • X-360
      • Power Supply:
      • Asus 750W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus Dvd Rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Toshiba-500GB
      • UPS:
      • General 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7-64 Bit(Sp 1)
      • Comment:
      • I am Loving It ;)
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 60 KB
      • Upload Speed:
      • 15-20
      • Console:
      • 146
    Exiled_SouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    Thanks for the tutorial bro i am going to give it a try..





  4. #4
    Member
    • avas911's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-EG41MF-US2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E6500 2.9 GHz 2MB L2 1066MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB 800 MHz Apecer at 5-5-5-15
      • Hard Drive:
      • OCZ Vertex 3 120GB Sata III & Samsung 103SJ 1 TB F3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI RADEON HD6850 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Philips 107S7 17" at [email protected]
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In Realtek ALC883
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A200 / Cosonic Generic / Logitech Ultimate Ears 200vi/SoundMAGIC E10M IEM
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7 XL-747H 3600 DPI
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta GPS-500AB A 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 16x IDE DVD R
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 500 8GB & Corsair Survivor USB 3.0 16GB & Samsung Class 10 16GB mSDHC
      • UPS:
      • Rahimafrooz 600VA Premium
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate 64Bit
      • Comment:
      • Slow in gaming
      • ISP:
      • Link3 512
      • Download Speed:
      • 70
      • Upload Speed:
      • 70
    avas911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    4,251

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    +1 rep bro...nice tutorial.....and its pretty easy to understand...good work...

  5. #5
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    thanks bro, gonna try it soon.

  6. #6
    Member
    • XtremeGamer's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ECS P45T-A Black Series
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium DualCore E5200 - 2.5Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend JetRAM (2GB X 4 = 8GB )
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG Spinpoint 3 x 1TB = 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX ATI Radeon HD 4890
      • Display:
      • ASUS VH222H 21.5" HD Full HD Monitor With HDMI.
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek High Definition ALC888
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative I-Trigue L3500 - 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Mercury Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech 2X Office MOP-70D
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD-RW & DVD ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 16GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 AND WIDOWS XP
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 5.9 in win7
      • Comment:
      • update sooon
      • Console:
      • 8
    XtremeGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    thx mintt...good thread..repu +1
    গেম খেলতে খেলতে পাগল হয়ে গেলাম


  7. #7
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23 45' 10.07", +90 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    how much do u want minitt?
    and is this possible in any UPS?
    cause i remember u told me that
    they were only possible in Rahimafrooz with a software through USB or sth
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

  8. #8
    Member
    • |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz. LGA1366 Bloomfield with 8MB L3 Cache and 4.8GT/s QPI
      • RAM:
      • 3x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz. Performance RAM in triple channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 160GB SATA II HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Spaahire Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung T220 22" LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 8-channel HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-4 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Dell Laptop Mouse 800Dpi
      • Controller:
      • Clone PS2 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair TX650W PSU
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 20X Dual-Layer DVD-Burner with LightScribe; Lite-on 16X DVD-ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StorJet C 500GB & WD Elements 160GB
      • UPS:
      • Well 1200VA Generic
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Experience Index: 5.8(HDD); rest are 7.5+
      • Comment:
      • Too much for me!
      • ISP:
      • Mango TeleServices
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40Kbps
    |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    July 15th, 2010
    Ha ha ha! The last post was dated July 15th. Could you people imagine how old this thread is? йЦммєя brother, minitt bro may have probably forgotten about this thread anyways. It has been really long. So no use digging up old posts like this...

  9. #9
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K PRO
      • CPU:
      • Intel Q8400 OC @ 3.66 w/ Xigmatek Dark Knight
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2*2gb DDR2 OC @ 901Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F1 + 1TB F3 HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD5850 1GB GDDR5 OC @ 850/1200
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T200 20&quot; LCD (1680*1050)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 883, 8 -Channel High-Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121 - 2.1 / SteelSeries Siberia
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech Multimedia KBS-8
      • Mouse:
      • SteelSeries Xai w/ SteelSeries QCK Heavy
      • Controller:
      • Logic USB Dual Shock
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 500w w/ Thermaltake M5 Casing
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus SATA 18xMax DR
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Pixma ip1000 (printer) | Transceed 8gb Pendive
      • UPS:
      • N/A Sad Case T_T
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 RTM 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMarkVantage (P 15427) (GPU 16717) (CPU 12528)
      • Comment:
      • &lt;3 iT !
      • ISP:
      • Dhaka Fiber Net &amp; ISpros
      • Download Speed:
      • 512kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 256kbps
    SHTN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Kallyanpur
    Posts
    595

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    Quote Originally Posted by |--| View Post
    Ha ha ha! The last post was dated July 15th. Could you people imagine how old this thread is? йЦммєя brother, minitt bro may have probably forgotten about this thread anyways. It has been really long.So no use digging up old posts like this...
    I dont lyk ur post.

    Its a very useful thread, Im sure minitt vi will help nytime, and there is nth mentioned lyk "Limited Offer"

    I still run my pc without a ups, kinar poisha nai, 6mth or a year pore kinleo i'll dig this thread . .
    Last edited by SHTN; September 9th, 2010 at 11:47.
    ~It is better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you are stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

  10. #10
    Member
    • |-&lt;NOSALIS&gt;-|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz. LGA1366 Bloomfield with 8MB L3 Cache and 4.8GT/s QPI
      • RAM:
      • 3x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz. Performance RAM in triple channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 160GB SATA II HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Spaahire Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung T220 22&quot; LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 8-channel HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-4 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Dell Laptop Mouse 800Dpi
      • Controller:
      • Clone PS2 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair TX650W PSU
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 20X Dual-Layer DVD-Burner with LightScribe; Lite-on 16X DVD-ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StorJet C 500GB &amp; WD Elements 160GB
      • UPS:
      • Well 1200VA Generic
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Experience Index: 5.8(HDD); rest are 7.5+
      • Comment:
      • Too much for me!
      • ISP:
      • Mango TeleServices
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40Kbps
    |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    Quote Originally Posted by SHTN™ View Post
    I dont lyk ur post.

    Its a very useful thread, Im sure minitt vi will help nytime, and there is nth mentioned lyk "Limited Offer"

    I still run my pc without a ups, kinar poisha nai, 6mth or a year pore kinleo i'll dig this thread . .
    OK! OK! You can tell a thing in two ways: A) Discreetly B) Silently. I would have really preferred the second method here.

    And about my post, I said this because we had a lot of discussion about this mod with with Minitt brother previously and he said that he was too busy. We exchanged PMs too about making this UPS mod.

  11. #11
    Member
    • acE.Shanny's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ECS EliteGroup P45T-A Black edtion
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Q8400 2.66GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2*2GB 800bus DDR2 TRANSEND
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB+1TB+80GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Gigabyte HD5770 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • 17&quot; LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G19
      • Mouse:
      • SteelSeries Sensei
      • Power Supply:
      • 500W TT TR2
      • UPS:
      • 800VA Rahmia Afroz
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x86 [Alienware]
      • Comment:
      • 10/10
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64kBps/128kBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Half of Download Speed
    acE.Shanny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh,
    Posts
    4,650

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    It's very complicated thing for me. T_T But I'll give it a try. Wish me luck bhai. :S

  12. #12
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto Turn off and wake up UPS MOD

    ok im back.. for a while. But i can still assist PPL, who want to give it a try. U can hav my Cell # only if u r determined to giv it a try on ur own.

    @йЦммєя chances are pretty high that this mod can be applied to any UPS virtually but the total cost will increase (without Data cable and software).
    as for "how much i want" depends on how much u r willing to pay for my time.

    The reason it seems complex is... you are probably trying to follow my steps. But once u get the principal of this mod u can easily make your own design.
    basically if you know how a relay works, then u r already 50% done.

    Last but not least, this mod is NOT limited to rahima afrooz UPS.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 15th, 2010, 19:57
  2. How to turn off ram sharing on win 7
    By Banglavai in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 4th, 2009, 16:11
  3. Win 7 - Turn Off and Disable Hibernation - Save 2 GB Space
    By rafaat in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: May 29th, 2009, 18:14
  4. Auto turn off UPS MOD!!
    By minitt in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 19th, 2009, 01:49
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: December 27th, 2008, 10:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26854 seconds with 15 queries.